14 Mountain West Softball Players Named To NFCA All-Region Teams

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – The National Fastpitch Coaches Association has announced that 14 student-athletes from Mountain West programs have received 2017 NFCA Division I All-Region accolades. Between the Pacific and West Regions, the MW landed two players on the first team, six on the second team and six on the third team.

The awards honor softball student-athletes from the Association’s 10 regions with first, second and third-team selections. NFCA member coaches from each respective region voted on the teams, and all the honorees now become eligible for selection to the 2017 NFCA Division I All-American squads.

San Diego State led the Conference with six players earning All-West Region accolades. Fresno State had five student-athletes selected to the All-Pacific Region squad, while Colorado State (Pacific Region), Nevada (West Region) and San José State (Pacific Region) each had one honoree. 

Jenavee Peres of San Diego State was tabbed to the All-West Region First Team for the second time in her career, after also earning the distinction in 2015. On Wednesday, Peres was named the 2017 Mountain West Player of the Year in addition to being a first-team all-Conference selection. The Aztecs’ Sydnee Cable, who was a third-team All-West Region honoree in 2014, collects her second-career all-region award. Fresno State’s Kierra Willis was voted to the All-Pacific Region Third Team, after landing on the first team in 2016. 

Below is a full list of the MW’s NFCA All-Region honorees. 

Pacific Region: 
Savannah McHellon - Fresno State (First Team)
Morgan Howe - Fresno State (Second Team)
Malia Rivers - Fresno State (Second Team)
Hannah McCorkhill - Colorado State (Third Team)
Kamalani Dung - Fresno State (Third Team)
Kierra Willis - Fresno State (Third Team)
Katelyn Linford - San José State (Third Team)

West Region: 
Jenavee Peres - San Diego State (First Team)
Katie Byrd - San Diego State (Second Team)
Zaria Meshack - San Diego State (Second Team)
Taylor Stewart - San Diego State (Second Team)
Molly Sturdivant - San Diego State (Second Team)
Erika Hansen - Nevada (Third Team)
Sydnee Cable - San Diego State (Third Team)