Mountain West Announces 2015 Women's Basketball Championshp Bracket


Complete Bracket in PDF Format | MWN Release
2015 MW Championship Central | @MW_WHoops on Twitter Twitter
2014-15 Standings | Stats | Media Guide | Mountain West Network


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Colorado State (23-6, 15-3) won the 2014-15 Mountain West regular-season title and enters the 2015 MW Women's Basketball Championship as the No. 1 seed. The tournament will be held March 9-11 and 13 at the Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas.


New Mexico (18-11) finished second in the regular-season standings with a 14-4 Conference record and earned the No. 2 seed. Fresno State (21-8, 13-5) is the No. 3 seed, followed by Boise State (19-10, 11-7), the No. 4 seed. UNLV (13-16) will be the No. 5 seed with a 10-8 MW record based on its tiebreaker against sixth-seeded Wyoming (15-13, 10-8). San Diego State (11-18, 8-10) will be the No. 7 seed. San José State (13-16, 7-11) finished eighth in the standings, while Utah State (8-22) and Nevada (9-20) tied for ninth at 5-13. The Aggies will be the No. 9 seed based on the tiebreak. Air Force (2-27, 1-17) holds the 11th seed to round out the bracket.


San José State and Utah State will get the tournament started on Monday, March 9 at 2 p.m. PT with the No. 8 vs. No. 9 game. The winner will face No. 1 seed Colorado State in the quarterfinals. It will be the first meeting between the Spartans and Aggies in the MW Tournament. San José State leads the all-time series, 13-8, with a split of the 2014-15 series. The Aggies are 1-1 all-time in the MW Tournament, while the Spartans are 0-1.


Monday's first round games continue with No. 7 San Diego State against No. 10 Nevada at 4:30 p.m. PT, followed by No. 6 Wyoming against No. 11 Air Force at 7 p.m. The Aztecs and Wolf Pack will meet for the third time in the tournament with each team taking a win in the previous two meetings. SDSU is 12-13 in Championship action, earning titles in 2010 and 2012. Nevada is 2-2 going into its third MW Championship. It will be the first time that Wyoming and Air Force have met in MW postseason competition. The Cowgirls are 6-15 in the MW Championship. Air Force is 2-15 in the MW postseason.


Tuesday's quarterfinal games begin with No. 1 Colorado State against the winner of the 8/9 match-up at Noon PT. If San José State advances, it will be the first meeting between the two programs in the MW Tournament. CSU leads the all-time series against the Spartans, 9-2, including a two-game sweep during the 2014-15 season. If Utah State advances, it will be the second meeting between the institutions in MW Tournament play. Colorado State beat the Aggies in their lone 2014-15 meeting to up their series record to 14-9. The Rams are 12-14 in the MW Championship, winning the tournament title in 2001.


No. 4 seed Boise State meets No. 5 UNLV at 2:30 p.m. PT on Tuesday. This will be the first meeting between the two teams in the MW Tournament. The teams split the regular-season series and are split 5-5 in the all-time series. The Broncos are 1-3 in the MW Championship. The Lady Rebels are 9-15 in the postseason tournament.


The evening session of quarterfinals begins with No. 2 New Mexico against the winner of San Diego State-Nevada at 6 p.m. PT. It will be the first meeting in MW Tournament action between UNM-Nevada, if the Wolf Pack advance and the ninth pairing between the Lobos and Aztecs. New Mexico took the regular-season series, 1-0 from Nevada and are 3-3 against the Wolf Pack all-time. The Lobos swept SDSU, 2-0 in 2014-15 and hold a 30-25 advantage all-time. New Mexico is 25-10 in the MW Championship, earning the crown five times (2003, '04, '05, '07, '08).


No. 3 Fresno State will take on the advancing team of the Wyoming-Air Force match-up in the nightcap at 8:30 p.m. PT. The Bulldogs are the two-time defending tournament champions. Fresno State has never played Air Force in MW postseason action and has faced Wyoming just once. The Bulldogs won their lone 2014-15 meeting with the Falcons and took two games from the Cowgirls. They are 7-0 all-time against Air Force and 12-9 against Wyoming. Nevada is 6-0 in MW tournament play.


The four remaining teams will play in the semifinals on Wednesday, March 11, at 6 p.m. and 8:30 p.m. PT. The teams will be playing for the chance to play in Friday's Championship final at Noon PT on the Mountain West Network and earn the league's automatic bid to the 2015 NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament.


MW Championship Notes

  • The MW Championship has produced six different champions in 15 years. New Mexico is the only institution to win three consecutive championships (2003-2005) and five overall (2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008). Fresno State has won the last two titles (2013, 2014). San Diego State (2010, 2012) earned its second title three seasons ago and Colorado State won the crown in 2001.


  • The No. 1 seed has won the tournament title only five times in 15 years. San Diego State got through unscathed in 2012 as the No. 1 seed for its second title. New Mexico won the crown as the No. 1 seed in 2004 and 2005, while former member Utah won the championship in 2000 and 2009 as the top seed.


  • New Mexico is 5-1 when reaching the title game, while San Diego State is 2-3 in the tournament finale. The Aztecs and Lobos are 1-1 in championship game match-ups. Fresno State is 2-0 in when playing for the crown.


  • Fresno State is perfect in MW tournament action, going 6-0 in the Bulldogs' first two seasons in the Conference (2013, 2014).


  • Five current MW teams have reached the title game. New Mexico has advanced to the title game six times, while San Diego State has five appearances. Colorado State and Fresno State have played for the crown twice, and UNLV has been in the championship game once.



Monday, March 9 Broadcasts
2 p.m. First Round
No. 8 San José State vs. No. 9 Utah State
Mountain West Network
4:30 p.m. First Round
No. 7 San Diego State vs. No. 10 Nevada
Mountain West Network
7 p.m. First Round
No. 6 Wyoming vs. No. 11 Air Force
Mountain West Network
Tuesday, March 10 Broadcasts
12 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #1
No. 1 Colorado State vs. Winner of 8 vs. 9
Mountain West Network
2:30 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #2
No. 4 Boise State vs. No. 5 UNLV
Mountain West Network
6 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #3
No. 2 New Mexico vs. Winner of 7 vs. 10
Mountain West Network
8:30 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #4
No. 3 Fresno State vs. Winner of 6 vs. 11
Mountain West Network
Wednesday, March 11 Broadcasts
6 p.m. Semifinal Game #1
Winner of QF #1 vs. Winner of QF #2
Mountain West Network
8:30 p.m. Semifinal Game #2
Winner of QF #3 vs. Winner of QF #4
Mountain West Network
Friday, March 13 Broadcasts
Noon Championship Game Mountain West Network


All games are Pacific Time.


All-session and single-session tickets for the 2015 Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Championship are now on sale. Go to for more information.


All ten Mountain West Women's Basketball Championship games will be broadcast live on the Mountain West Network ( Fans can also follow along on their mobile devices. To download the MW app, go to