17 Mountain West Softball Players Named To NFCA All-Region Teams

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – The National Fastpitch Coaches Association has announced that 17 student-athletes from Mountain West programs have received 2016 NFCA Division I All-Region accolades. Between the Pacific and West Regions, the MW landed five players on the first team, four on the second team and eight on the third team.

The awards honor softball student-athletes from the Association’s 10 regions with first, second and third-team selections. NFCA member coaches from each respective region voted on the teams, and all the honorees now become eligible for selection to the 2016 NFCA Division I All-American squads.

Jill Compton of Fresno State earned her third-consecutive All-Pacific Region accolade, including her second-straight first-team nod. San José State’s Jessie Hufstetler picked up second-team All-Pacific Region honors for the second year in a row after being named to the third team in 2014. Alyssa Villalpando (first team) of Fresno State and Utah State’s Victoria Saucedo (second team) both garnered their second-career All-Pacific Region awards. 

Below is a full list of the MW’s NFCA All-Region honorees. 

Pacific Region: 
Jill Compton – Fresno State (First Team)
Lindsey Willmon – Fresno State (First Team)
Alyssa Villalpando – Fresno State (First Team)
Kierra Willis – Fresno State (First Team)
Paige Gumz – Fresno State (Second Team)
Victoria Saucedo – Utah State (Second Team)
Brittany Abacherli – San José State (Second Team)
Madison Aurin – San José State (Third Team)
Rebekah Cervantes – Boise State (Third Team)
Noelle Johnson – Utah State (Third Team)
Jessie Hufstetler – San José State (Third Team)
West Region: 
Jennifer Purcell  Nevada (First Team)
Aaliyah Gibson – Nevada (Second Team)
Brooke Bolinger – Nevada (Third Team)
Megan Sweet – Nevada (Third Team)
Mariah Rimmer – New Mexico (Third Team)
Chelsea Johnson – New Mexico (Third Team)