2014 Mountain West All-Conference Women's Volleyball Team Announced


2014 MW Women's Volleyball All-Conference Team and Individual Awards Announcement | Follow @MW_OlySports on Twitter Twitter

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Mountain West All-Conference Women’s Volleyball awards, as selected by the league's 11 head coaches, were announced today. Colorado State senior Deedra Foss was named MW Player of the Year, the eighth Ram to earn the league’s top honor. UNLV head coach Cindy Fredrick was selected MW Coach of the Year. Boise State’s Sierra Nobley was named MW Freshman of the Year and her teammate Kaitlyn Oliver was voted MW Newcomer of the Year.

Foss, a native of McKenna, Wash., joins former Rams Angela Knopf (2000-2001), Melissa Courtney (2003-04), Mekana Barnes (2007), Danielle Minch (2009-10), Katelyn Steffan (2011), Dana Cranston (2012) and Samantha Peters (2013) in earning the Conference’s top honor. Foss led CSU to its sixth straight MW regular-season title, and 12th overall. Foss, a setter, finished the regular season leading the league in assists per set (12.11) in Conference matches. She also averaged 2.15 digs and 0.85 blocks per set, and recorded six double-doubles. The Rams hit .273 over the 18-match MW season with Foss running the offense.

Nobley, an outside hitter from Scottsdale, Ariz., is the first Bronco to earn MW Freshman of the Year accolades. In league play, she was the top attacker in the MW with 4.33 kills per set, while hitting .224. She also averaged 1.83 digs and 0.41 blocks per set with four double-doubles.

Oliver, a redshirt freshman from Helena, Mont., earned the MW’s Newcomer of the Year award was third on the BSU team with 2.35 kills per set in league play. A middle blocker, Oliver is sixth in the league with a .347 attack percentage and averaged 0.76 blocks in MW action.

Fredrick was named Mountain West Coach of the Year for the first time since her arrival at UNLV in 2011. Fredrick led the Rebels to a school-record 26 wins and 14 Conference victories. UNLV finished second in league play after being predicted to finish seventh in the preseason coaches’ poll. The Rebels rank third in the nation in blocks per set this season (3.09).

Wyoming’s Erin Kirby became the third player in Mountain West women’s volleyball history to be named to the MW All-Conference team in four consecutive seasons. She joins Utah’s Kim Turner (2000-03) and Colorado State’s Megan Plourde (2009-12).

Foss and New Mexico’s Chantale Riddle earned All-MW honors for the third straight year, while Colorado State’s Adrianna Culbert and Kelsey Snider and New Mexico’s Julia Warren made their second All-MW team. Nobley and teammates Sarah Baugh and Maddy O’Donnell, Air Force’s Akokwe Clement, Colorado State’s Marlee Reynolds and Utah State’s Kaitlyn VanHoff were honored for the first time. Kirby was joined on the All-MW team by teammates Laura Beach and Bridget Shanahan. UNLV placed four players on the team – Allison Davies, Daryn Glenn, Bree Hammel and Alexis Patterson. Foss was named the team’s designated setter, while Warren earned the designated libero honor.

The league added honorable mention honors this season led by Tessa Lea‘ea of Nevada and Hannah Johnson of New Mexico. They were joined by Air Force’s Taylor Parker, Colorado State’s Jaime Colaizzi, UNM’s Cassie House and UNLV’s Katlin Winters.

Name Institution Class Position Hometown
Akokwe Clement Air Force Jr. OH Long Beach, Calif.
Sarah Baugh Boise State Jr. S Poulsbo, Wash.
Sierra Nobley Boise State Fr. OH Scottsdale, Ariz.
Maddy O'Donnell Boise State So. MB Irvine, Calif.
Adrianna Culbert% Colorado State Jr. OPP Delton, Mich.
Marlee Reynolds Colorado State Sr. OH Dalhart, Texas
Kelsey Snider% Colorado State Sr. MB Arvada, Colo.
Chantale Riddle^% New Mexico Sr. RS/OPP Roswell, N.M.
Allison Davies UNLV Sr. L Eugene, Ore.
Daryn Glenn UNLV Sr. OH Corona, Calif.
Bree Hammel UNLV So. MB Las Vegas, Nev.
Alexis Patterson UNLV Fr. S Phoenix, Ariz.
Kaitlyn VanHoff Utah State Sr. MB Draper, Utah
Laura Beach Wyoming So. MB Lakewood, Colo.
Erin Kirby#^% Wyoming Sr. MB Evanston, Wyo.
Bridget Shanahan Wyoming Jr. OH Hartland, N.Y.
Designated Setter:
Deedra Foss^%
Colorado State Sr. S McKenna, Wash.
Designated Libero:
Julia Warren%
New Mexico So. L Albuquerque, N.M.
Honorable Mention:
Taylor Parker
Air Force Jr. MB Bozeman, Mont.
Honorable Mention:
Jaime Colaizzi
Colorado State Jr. L Windsor, Colo.
Honorable Mention:
Tessa Lea'ea^
Nevada Sr. MB Stockton, Calif.
Honorable Mention:
Cassie House
New Mexico So. OH Rio Rancho, N.M.
Honorable Mention:
Hannah Johnson%
New Mexico Jr. S Longview, Wash.
Honorable Mention:
Katlin Winters
UNLV Sr. MB St. Clair Shores, Mich.

Player of the Year: Deedra Foss, Sr., S, Colorado State

Freshman of the Year: Sierra Nobley, Fr., OH, Boise State

Newcomer of the Year: Kaitlyn Oliver, R-Fr., MB, Boise State

Coach of the Year: Cindy Fredrick, UNLV

# = 2011 honoree
^ = 2012 honoree
% = 2013 honoree