Nineteen MW Football Players Named to 2014 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced today the members of the 2014 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers. A total of 838 players from 267 schools qualified for membership in the society's eighth year, setting a new record for the number of members in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

2013 NFF National Scholar-Athlete and MW Offensive Player of the Year Derek Carr (Fresno State) heads up a group of 19 Mountain West football student-athletes named to the 2014 NFF Hampshire Honor Society. Six MW teams were represented on the list with Boise State claiming a league-high seven honorees, followed by Utah State with four and Colorado State with three. Fresno State and San José State had two individuals honored apiece, while Nevada rounded out the list with one.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs nationwide. The initiative has honored 4,927 student-athletes since its inception, and the program has experienced growth every year in either members or school participation since its launch in 2007. The 2014 class of 838 players represents a new high water mark for members, eclipsing the old record mark by 117 student-athletes.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

  • Being a starter or a significant contributor in one's last year of eligibility (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university;

  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and

  • Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

    The Hampshire Honor Society represents a powerful component in the organization's rich history as an innovator in promoting the scholar-athlete ideal. Launched in 1959 with a donation from Hall of Fame coach Earl "Red" Blaik, the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, became the first initiative in history to grant postgraduate scholarships based on a player's combined academic success, football performance and community leadership. And, since its inception, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards program has awarded $10.4 million to 787 top scholars and community leaders.

    Currently, the NFF distributes more than $300,000 a year at the national level through the program to 16 individuals. Each winner of a National Scholar-Athlete Award receives an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. Additionally, the William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth and hosted at the New York Athletic Club, is given to one member of each year's class as the absolute best. The winner of the Campbell Trophy, claimed by All-American guard John Urschel (Penn State) in 2013, receives a total scholarship of $25,000 and a 24-inch, 25-pound bronze trophy. Through, its chapter network, the NFF also awards an additional $1.3 million to local high school student-athletes, bringing the NFF's annual scholarship distribution total to more than $1.6 million.

    Team Name Class Position
    Boise State Spencer Gerke Sr. OG
    Boise State Trevor Harman Sr. PK
    Boise State Gabe Linehan Sr. TE
    Boise State Ebo Makinde Sr. CB
    Boise State Kirby Moore Sr. WR
    Boise State Matt Paradis Sr. OL
    Boise State Joe Southwick Sr. QB
    Colorado State Tanner Hedstrom Sr. LS
    Colorado State Chris Nwoke Sr. RB
    Colorado State Weston Richburg Sr. OL
    Fresno State Lars Bramer Sr. OL
    Fresno State Derek Carr Sr. QB
    Nevada Joel Bitonio Sr. OL
    San José State Nicholas Kaspar Sr. OG
    San José State Jon Meyer Sr. OT
    Utah State Clayton Christensen Sr. S
    Utah State Jake Doughty Sr. LB
    Utah State Jamie Markosian Sr. OL
    Utah State Travis Reynolds Sr. WR