2015 Mountain West All-Conference Women's Volleyball Team Announced


2015 MW Women's Volleyball All-Conference Team and Individual Awards Announcement | Follow @MW_OlySports on Twitter Twitter

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Mountain West All-Conference Women’s Volleyball awards, as selected by the league's 11 head coaches, were announced today. Colorado State senior Adrianna Culbert was named MW Player of the Year, the ninth Ram to earn the league’s top honor. Colorado State’s Alex Reid earned MW Newcomer of the Year honors and Wyoming’s Reed Copeland was voted MW Freshman of the Year. Boise State head coach Shawn Garus was selected MW Coach of the Year.

Culbert, a native of Delton, Michigan, joins former Rams Angela Knopf (2000-2001), Melissa Courtney (2003-04), Mekana Barnes (2007), Danielle Minch (2009-10), Katelyn Steffan (2011), Dana Cranston (2012), Samantha Peters (2013) and Deedra Foss (2014) in earning the Conference’s top honor. Culbert, a unanimous Player of the Year selection, led CSU to its seventh straight MW regular-season title, and 13th overall, with a perfect 18-0 mark in league action. Culbert played setter and opposite hitter as the Rams moved to a 6-2 rotation this season. She averaged 6.28 assists, 2.74 kills, 2.57 digs and 0.98 blocks per set in Mountain West action, while hitting .309. Culbert also recorded nine double-doubles in conference play, including the league’s first quadruple-double of 10 kills, 13 digs, 20 assists, and 11 blocks in a 3-1 win at San José State on October 17. The Rams hit .288 over the 18-match MW season with Culbert leading the offense.

Reid, an outside hitter from Aurora, Colorado, is the second Ram to earn MW Newcomer of the Year accolades, joining Deedra Foss (2011). In league play, the senior transfer from Long Beach State ranked fourth in MW play with 3.41 kills per set, while hitting .263. She also averaged 2.87 digs and 0.66 blocks per set with seven double-doubles.

Copeland, a middle blocker from Federal Way, Washington, joins former Cowgirls Rachel Smith (2004) and Jodi Purdy (2009) in earning the MW’s Freshman of the Year award. She led the league in MW action with 1.73 blocks per set. Copeland also averaged 1.34 kills per set and hit .266 in conference play.

Garus was named Mountain West Coach of the Year for the first time since Boise State’s move into the league in 2011. Garus led the Broncos to a 15-3 Mountain West mark and 23-7 overall record. The 15 conference wins are the most by the Broncos since joining the MW and ties the Boise State conference-match record in 1988. The 20-plus win season is the 10th in Bronco history. Boise State leads the nation in assists (14.56) and kills (15.54) per set in 2015. The Broncos placed five players on the 2015 All-Mountain West team.

Culbert earned All-MW honors for the third straight year, while seven players made a second appearance on the 18-member postseason team – Air Force’s Akokwe Clement, Boise State’s Sarah Baugh, Sierra Nobley and Maddy O’Donnell, New Mexico’s Hannah Johnson, UNLV’s Bree Hammel and Wyoming’s Laura Beach. Johnson also appeared a third year on the honorable mention list.

Reid was joined on the team by other first-timers Maddi Osburn and Kaitlyn Oliver of Boise State, Acacia Andrews and Alexandra Poletto of Colorado State, Maggie Eppright of Fresno State, Madison Morell of Nevada, Skye Gullatt of New Mexico, Deja Harris of San Diego State, and Kayla Slofkiss of Wyoming.

Honorable mention honors this season went to Colorado State’s Jaime Colaizzi and UNM’s Cassie House for the second year in a row. The duo was joined by Shelley Spires of Air Force, Simone Henderson of New Mexico, Bailey Little of San Diego State and Tyanna Roy of San José State.


2015 Mountain West All-Conference Women's Volleyball Team
Name Cl. Pos. Institution
Akokwe Clement# Sr. OH Air Force
Sarah Baugh# Sr. S Boise State
Sierra Nobley# So. OH Boise State
Maddy O'Donnell# Jr. MB Boise State
Kaitlyn Oliver So. MB Boise State
Maddi Osburn So. L Boise State
Acacia Andrews Jr. MB Colorado State
Adrianna Culbert%# Sr. S/OPP Colorado State
Alexandra Poletto So. MB Colorado State
Alex Reid Sr. OH Colorado State
Maggie Eppright Jr. L Fresno State
Madison Morell Jr. OH Nevada
Skye Gullatt Sr. MB New Mexico
Hannah Johnson%# Sr. S New Mexico
Deja Harris R-Fr. MB San Diego State
Bree Hammel# Jr. MB UNLV
Laura Beach Jr. MB Wyoming
Kayla Slofkiss Jr. OH Wyoming
2015 Mountain West All-Conference Women's Volleyball Team - Honorable Mention
Name Cl. Pos. Institution
Shelley Spires So. OH Air Force
Jaime Colaizzi# Sr. L Colorado State
Simone Henderson Sr. MB New Mexico
Cassie House# Jr. OH New Mexico
Bailey Little Jr. RS San Diego State
Tyanna Roy Sr. OH/OPP San José State

Player of the Year: Adrianna Culbert, Sr., S/OPP, Colorado State
Freshman of the Year: Reed Copeland, MB, Wyoming
Newcomer of the Year: Alex Reid, Sr., OH, Colorado State
Coach of the Year: Shawn Garus, Boise State
% = 2013 honoree
# = 2014 honoree