2015 Mountain West Baseball Championship Bracket Set

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Nevada (41-13, 22-7 MW) is the 2015 Mountain West regular season baseball champion and earned the No. 1 seed in next week’s Championship tournament. The MW Championship will be held at William Peccole Park in Reno, Nevada, from Wednesday-Sunday, May 20-24. The Wolf Pack and No. 2 seed San Diego State (35-20, 19-10 MW) have first-round byes to Thursday, May 21.



The 2015 MW Championship will be a double-elimination tournament preceded by a single play-in game between No. 6 seed UNLV (24-29, 10-20 MW) and No. 7 seed San José State (13-43, 6-24 MW). The winner of the game, to be played at 11 a.m. PT on Wednesday, May 20, will face No. 3 seed Fresno State (29-26, 18-12 MW) immediately following at 3 p.m. PT.  No. 4 seed New Mexico (29-25, 17-13 MW) will face No. 5 seed Air Force (22-27, 11-17 MW) at 7 p.m. PT.


Nevada’s 22 MW wins are the most by the team since joining the league in 2013. Nevada is 4-4 in two seasons of MW championship play. The Wolf Pack jump to the No. 1 seed after being the No. 4 seed in 2014 and No. 5 seed in 2013. Nevada is the sixth difference team to earn the MW top seed. The Wolf Pack will face the lowest winning seed of Wednesday’s first round games at 7 p.m. PT on Thursday, May 21.


San Diego State, the two-time defending tournament champion, is 37-26 in MW tournament action and has won three postseason titles overall (2000, 2013 and 2014). The Aztecs will face the highest winning seed advancing from the first round match-ups at 3 p.m. PT on Thursday, May 21.


Air Force is making its third consecutive appearance in the tournament after a six-year absence. The Falcons hold a 3-17 championship record over nine appearances. This is the squad’s highest seed in the tournament since Air Force was the No. 4 seed in 2002. New Mexico is 23-26 in Championship action with titles in 2011 and 2012. The Lobos are 3-0 against the Falcons in tournament play.


Fresno State earned the No. 3 seed with a series win over New Mexico on May 15-16. The Bulldogs are 3-4 in two years of MW postseason competition and will play the winner of UNLV-San José State. Fresno State is 0-1 versus the Rebels and has not faced the Spartans since joining the MW in 2013.


UNLV is 25-25 in 15 seasons of MW action, winning three titles (2003, 2004 and 2005). San José State went 1-2 in its first MW postseason tournament last year. The two teams did not play each other in the 2014 tournament.


The losers of Wednesday’s 3 p.m. and 7 p.m. contests will play each other at 11 a.m. PT on Thursday, May 21, followed by the first games for No. 2 seed San Diego State (3 p.m.) and No. 1 seed Nevada (7 p.m.).  Elimination games continue on Friday, May 22 at 11 a.m. PT and 3 p.m. PT with the winner’s bracket game played at 7 p.m. PT. Saturday, May 23, will begin with an elimination game set for 3 p.m. PT, followed by the championship game at 7 p.m. PT.  If a second championship game is needed, it will be played at 1 p.m. PT on Sunday, May 24.


Every tournament game will be streamed live and free on the Mountain West Network (TheMW.com).  Paul Loeffler, Don Marchand and Robert Portnoy will call the games from William Peccole Park with David Lombardi returning to the broadcast team to provide color analysis for a third season.


Fans are encouraged to use the hashtag #MWBSB15 when posting on Twitter (@MW_OlySports), Instagram (MountainWestConference) and Facebook (MountainWestConference). Ticket information is available through the Championship Central page on TheMW.com (http://www.themw.com/page/championship_m-basebl).


2015 Mountain West Baseball Championship

All games will be live-streamed on the Mountain West Network.


Wednesday, May 20

Game No. 1 - #6 UNLV vs. #7 San José State, 11 a.m. PT

Game No. 2 - #3 Fresno State vs. Winner of UNLV/San José State, 3 p.m. PT

Game No. 3 - #4 New Mexico vs. #5 Air Force, 7 p.m. PT


Thursday, May 21

Game No. 4 - Game 2 loser vs. Game 3 loser, 11 a.m. PT

Game No. 5 - #2 San Diego State vs. Highest winning seed of Games 2/3, 3 p.m. PT

Game No. 6 - #1 Nevada vs. Lowest winning seed of Games 2/3, 7 p.m. PT


Friday, May 22

Game No. 7 - Winner of Game 4 vs. Lowest losing seed of Game 5/6, 11 a.m. PT

Game No. 8 - Winner of Game 7 vs. Highest losing seed of Game 5/6, 3 p.m. PT

Game No. 9 - Winner of Game 5 vs. Winner of Game 6, 7 p.m. PT


Saturday, May 23

Game No. 10 - Winner of Game 8 vs. Loser of Game 9, 3 p.m. PT

Championship Game - Winner of Game 9 vs. Winner of Game 10, 7 p.m. PT


Sunday, May 24

If Necessary Championship Game - Same teams as Saturday 7 p.m. game if both have one loss, 1 p.m. PT


# = Tournament seed