2016 MW Women's Golf Championship Tees Off Monday, April 18

Championship Preview | 2016 Championship Central

First-Round Pairings and Tee Times

The 2016 Mountain West Women's Golf Championship will be played on the Dinah Shore Tournament Course at Mission Hills Country Club (par 72, 6,291 yards) in Rancho Mirage, Calif., April 18-20. It is the fourth straight year the tournament will be held at Mission Hills.

All nine Mountain West teams will participate in the 54-hole championship. 18 holes will be played each day (Monday-Wednesday), with tee times beginning at 7 a.m. PT.

Four-time champion UNLV enters the tournament ranked 17th according to GolfStat, while San Diego State, which is the defending champion, is ranked 23rd and in search of its second league crown. New Mexico, which is ranked 50th in the GolfStat rankings, is the third-seeded team in the tournament. The Lobos are eight-time champions and will be looking for their first title since 2014.

Individually, two MW golfers are ranked in the top 100 according to GolfStat. San Diego State senior Emma Henrikson leads the way at No. 10, followed by UNLV freshman Kaylee Benton at No. 66.

Seven of last year's top-10 individual finishers return in 2016, including defending medalist and junior Manon Mollé of New Mexico. In 2015, Mollé (72-71-67) and San Diego State's Milagros Chaves (66-74-70) completed the 54-hole tournament with identical scores of 6-under 210. On the playoff, Mollé notched her 13th birdie of the tournament on the 18th green, while Chaves parred for runner-up position. It marked the second time in three years that a New Mexico golfer won the individual title in a playoff, after Manon DeRoey did so in 2013. Mollé's individual victory also marks the seventh for the Lobos since the league's inception in 1999.

MW Women’s Golf LEADERBOARD on the Web
Follow Mountain West Women’s Golf action with up-to-date team and individual scoreboards on the Conference website at TheMW.com. To keep up with all of the action, go to the women’s golf page and click on “Leaderboard”.

Fans and Media Attending 2016 MW WOMEN’S GOLF Championship
Fans and members of the media should be familiar with golf course etiquette. Admission is free, but the use of golf carts is prohibited.  Media must coordinate interviews through the MW media relations contact. Photographers must request a credential from the MW office and should obtain the rules and regulations before proceeding on the course.

2016 MW WOMEN’S GOLF CHAMPIONSHIP Live Hole-by-Hole Scoring
The Mountain West will provide live hole-by-hole scoring at the 2016 Women’s Golf Championship. Live action can be tracked on the tournament central page, located here or directly on GolfStat.com.

2016 Championship Schedule: 54 holes – 18 each day

Tee Times: Monday - Wednesday - 7 a.m. PT

First Round Pairings:
Group 1    7:00-7:36 a.m. – Boise State, San José State, UNLV
Group 2    7:45-8:21 a.m. – Nevada, Colorado State, San Diego State
Group 3    8:30-9:06 a.m. – Wyoming, Fresno State, New Mexico