33 Mountain West Student-Athletes Headed To 2016 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – A total of 33 Mountain West student-athletes from eight institutions have qualified for the 2016 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships, which will be held June 8-11 at Hayward Field in Eugene, Oregon. The student-athletes punched their respective tickets at last week’s West Preliminary in Lawrence, Kansas, by placing in the top-12 of their respective events.

  • On the women’s side, 19 MW student-athletes along with one relay team have qualified for the national championship meet. 
  • On the men’s side, 14 individuals and two relay teams will be competing. The 14 individuals are the most to represent the MW since 2011 when 15 male student-athletes went to nationals. 
  • The MW men will be best represented in the 1500-Meter Run with four student-athletes. 
  • The best represented women’s events will be the 1500-Meter and 10,000-Meter Runs with three MW student-athletes competing in each race. 
  • Air Force’s Jamiel Trimble and Parker Bluth of Utah State will both compete in three events. Trimble will take part in the 200-Meter Dash, 110-Meter Hurdles and will run on the Falcons’ 4x100-Meter Relay team. Bluth is scheduled to participate in the 100 and 200-Meter Dashes as well as the 4x400-Meter Relay. 
  • San Diego State’s Ashley Henderson will represent the Aztecs’ in three events, including the 100 and 200-Meter Dashes and the 4x100-Meter Relay. Teammate Micha Auzenne qualified in the 100-Meter Hurdles and will join Henderson on the 4x100-Meter Relay team. Boise State’s Brenna Peloquin will compete in the 5000 and 10,000-Meter Runs. 
  • The highest ranked men’s participant is Dillon Maggard of Utah State at No. 2 in the 1500-Meter Run. The Aggie sophomore placed second at the West Preliminary with a time of 3:43.37.
  • Overall, six student-athletes and one relay team on the men’s side enter the NCAA National Championship ranked in the top-10 in their respective events.
  • On the women’s side, Courtney Frerichs of New Mexico ranks No. 1 in the 3000-Meter Steeplechase. Frerichs won in dominating fashion with a time of 9:51.48 at the West Preliminary. 
  • Overall, the Conference will be represented by seven, top-10 ranked individuals in women’s events.
  • Four MW women will be taking part in the national meet for the second-consecutive season, including Hannah Everson of Air Force (10,000-Meter Run), Kyra Johnson of Fresno State (400-Meter Hurdles), New Mexico’s Calli Thackery (5000-Meter Run) and the Lobos’ Alice Wright (10,000-Meter Run). 
  • On the men’s side, Dylan Bell of Air Force will compete in the Pole Vault for the second-straight year, while Boise State’s David Elliott will take part in the 1500-Meter Run in back-to-back years. After qualifying in the 400-Meter Dash in 2015, Cole Lambourne of Utah State will run on the Aggies’ 4x400-Meter Relay squad in 2016. 

Below is a full list of MW qualifiers with their national seed also included. 

100-Meter Dash
Parker Bluth (Utah State) – 16th 

200-Meter Dash
Jamiel Trimble (Air Force) – 3rd  
Parker Bluth (Utah State) – 24th 

800-Meter Run
Clay Lambourne (Utah State) – 21st  

1500-Meter Run
Dillon Maggard (Utah State) – 2nd  
Matt Dorsey (Air Force) – 8th 
Josh Kerr (New Mexico) – 9th 
David Elliott (Boise State) – 20th

3000-Meter Steeplechase
Elmar Engholm (New Mexico) – 12th 

5000-Meter Run
Patrick Corona (Air Force) – 18th 

110-Meter Hurdles
Jamiel Trimble (Air Force) – 15th 

400-Meter Hurdles
AJ Boully (Utah State) – 16th 

4x100-Meter Relay
Air Force (Gavin McHenry, Zach Johnson, Robbie Anderson, Jamiel Trimble) – 15th 

4x400-Meter Relay
Utah State (Parker Bluth, Brady Martin, Cole Lambourne, AJ Boully) – 8th 

Pole Vault
Dylan Bell (Air Force) – 6th  
Kyle Pater (Air Force) – 22nd  

Long Jump
Allan Hamilton (New Mexico) – 15th 

Shot Put
Mostafa Hassan (Colorado State) – 4th 

100-Meter Dash
Ashley Henderson (San Diego State) – 4th  

200-Meter Dash
Ashley Henderson (San Diego State) – 15th 

1500-Meter Run
Emily Hosker-Thornhill (New Mexico) – 12th  
Sophie Connor (New Mexico) – 21st 
Annemarie Schwanz (Fresno State) – 23rd 

3000-Meter Steeplechase
Courtney Frerichs (New Mexico) – 1st
Minttu Hukka (Boise State) – 23rd  

5000-Meter Run 
Brenna Peloquin (Boise State) – 5th 
Calli Thackery (New Mexico) – 18th  

10,000-Meter Run
Alice Wright (New Mexico) – 5th  
Hannah Everson (Air Force) – 11th 
Brenna Peloquin (Boise State) – 13th 

100-Meter Hurdles
Micha Auzenne (San Diego State) – 22nd  

400-Meter Hurdles 
Kyra Johnson (Fresno State) – 20th 

4x100-Meter Relay
San Diego State (Starlynn Singleton, Simone Glenn, Micha Auzenne, Ashley Henderson) – 12th 

High Jump 
Kaysee Pilgrim (UNLV) – 19th  

Long Jump
Ayana Gales (UNLV) – 21st  

Triple Jump 
Jannell Hadnot (New Mexico) – 8th 
Aasha Marler (New Mexico) – 23rd  

Discus Throw
Alexa Evans (San Diego State) – 6th 
Rachel Alesi (San Diego State) – 12th 

Hammer Throw
Maci Bingham (Utah State) – 8th