Mountain West Trio Named to Bob Cousy Watch List

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Three Mountain West men's basketball student-athletes - Boise State's Derrick Marks, New Mexico's Kendall Williams and Utah State's Preston Medlin - are among 46 individuals who have been named to the 2014 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award Watch List. The Mountain West is one of seven conferences (ACC, American, Big East, Big Ten, Pac-12, SEC) with three or more players on the initial list, which was announced Tuesday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, the annual award recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. This list was created by a committee of well-respected media members and influential people within college basketball from around the country.

Marks, a junior guard, averaged 16.3 points, 3.9 assists and 3.8 rebounds per game last season en route to earning second-team All-Mountain West honors. He scored in double figures 24 times, including eight games with at least 20 points and three times hitting the 30-point plateau. The Plainfield, Ill., native dished out at least five assists in 11 games last season and also led the league with 56 steals.

Williams, a native of Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., was named the 2012-13 MW Player of the Year in addition to receiving Associated Press All-American honorable mention. The two-time All-MW honoree led the Conference in minutes played (34.4 mpg) last season, while also ranking among league leaders in scoring (13.3 ppg), assists (4.9 apg), free throw shooting percentage (.765) and assist-to-turnover ratio (2.31). A senior guard, Williams is only the second player in league history to earn both MW Freshman and Player of the Year honors in a career (Andrew Bogut, Utah).

Medlin, a senior guard from Carrollton, Texas, has returned to the Aggies' lineup after missing the final 15 games of the 2012-13 season with a wrist injury. At the time of his injury, Medlin was the team's leading scorer (16.3 ppg) and top 3-point shooter (39.3%, 2.1 pg). A first-team all-conference selection in 2011-12, Medlin has posted 45 career double-figure scoring games, including 19 20-point performances and one 30-point contest.

The watch list of candidates will be updated throughout the season and narrowed down to a final 20 in early February, then a final five by early March. A premier Selection Committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the candidates in contention for the nation’s top collegiate point guard award. This committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including members of the media, head coaches, media relations contacts and Hall of Famers. The Cousy Award winner will be presented the award on Championship Monday in Dallas at the Hall of Fame's Class of 2014 Announcement and Press Conference.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut), Kendall Marshall (North Carolina) and last year’s recipient Trey Burke (Michigan). For more information on the 2014 Bob Cousy, log onto>.

Trevor Releford, Alabama
TJ McConnell, Arizona
Jahii Carson, Arizona State
Walt Lemon Jr., Bradley
Justin Cobbs, California
Kyle Anderson, UCLA
Billy Baron, Canisius
Spencer Dinwiddie, Colorado
Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
Quinn Cook, Duke
Brett Comer, Florida Gulf Coast
Kasey Hill, Florida
Devon Bookert, Florida State
Markel Starks, Georgetown
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga
Keifer Sykes, Green Bay
Siyani Chambers, Harvard
Brandyn Curry, Harvard
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
Jake Odum, Indiana State
DeAndre Kane, Iowa State
Andrew Harrison, Kentucky
Elfrid Payton, Lafayette
Jason Brickman, LIU-Brooklyn
Anthony Ireland, Loyola Marymount
Chris Jones, Louisville
Chaz Williams, Massachusetts
Michael Dixon, Memphis
Joe Jackson, Memphis
Keith Appling, Michigan State
Jordan Clarkson, Missouri
Marcus Paige, North Carolina
Eric Atkins, Notre Dame
Aaron Craft, Ohio State
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Dominic Artis, Oregon
Tim Frazier, Penn State
Kris Dunn, Providence
Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova
Nigel Williams-Goss, Washington
Semaj Christon, Xavier
Kendrick Perry, Youngstown State