Mountain West Announces 2013-14 Men's Golf Awards

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Mountain West announced its 2013-14 Men's Golf All-Conference team and individual awards today as selected by the 11 head coaches. New Mexico junior Gavin Green was selected as Mountain West Golfer of the Year, while Ricky DeSantis of San Diego State was named MW Freshman of the Year. MW Coach of the Year honors went to Glen Millican of New Mexico.

Green is currently ranked 21st by Golfweek and 29th by Golfstat. He has recorded seven top-10 finishes this season and has won three individual tournament titles, including medalist honors at last week's Mountain West Men's Golf Championship held at Tucson National. He is the fifth junior to capture the league's top honor and fifth New Mexico golfer to earn the award, including the second straight after James Erkenbeck claimed the honor in 2012-13. Michael Letzig was the first Lobo to be named MW Golfer of the Year in 2002-03. Charlie Beljan won the award in 2006-07, followed by Steve Saunders in 2008-09. Green leads the Mountain West with a 71.20 stroke average over 35 rounds.

DeSantis was selected as the Mountain West Freshman of the Year. He boasts a 71.40 stroke average and posted six top-20 and two top-10 finishes this year. DeSantis is the second straight San Diego State golfer to be named MW Freshman of the Year honors after Riccardo Michelini earned the award in 2012-13. Matt Hoffenberg garnered the award for the Aztecs in 2007-08.

Millican directed New Mexico to back-to-back Mountain West men's golf championships (2012-13 and 2013-14) and earned his fourth career Mountain West Coach of the Year honor. He also won the award in 2002-03, 2004-05 and 2012-13. The Lobos have won four tournament titles this season and placed in the top five in eight of 12 events overall.

The 2013-14 MW Men's Golf All-Conference team consists of 10 individuals. New Mexico's Victor Perez is a three-time All-Conference selection, while his Lobo teammate Green, Air Force's Kyle Westmoreland, and San Diego State's Xander Schauffele earn all-league honors for the second time in their careers.

Golfer of the Year
Gavin Green, Jr., New Mexico

Freshman of the Year
Ricky DeSantis, San Diego State

Coach of the Year
Glen Millican, New Mexico

All-Conference Team
Kyle Westmoreland, Sr., Air Force
Gavin Green, Jr., New Mexico
Victor Perez, Jr., New Mexico
Ricky DeSantis, Fr., San Diego State
Riccardo Michelini, So., San Diego State
Xander Schauffele, Jr., San Diego State
Cody Blick, So., San José State
Carl Jonson, Jr., UNLV
Kurt Kitayama, Jr., UNLV
Zane Thomas, So., UNLV