Bronco Nagurski and Outland Trophy Watch Lists Feature Seven MW Student-Athletes

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Seven Mountain West football student-athletes appeared on the preseason Bronco Nagurski and Outland Trophy watch lists as announced on Friday. The Bronco Nagurski Trophy is awarded to the national defensive player of the year, while the Outland Trophy recognizes the top interior lineman in college football. 

Representing the MW on the Bronco Nagurski watch list are seniors Weston Steelhammer of Air Force, Tanner Vallejo of Boise State and San Diego State’s Calvin Munson

Steelhammer, a two-time First-Team All-Mountain West selection, led the Falcons in tackles last season with 80 and interceptions with five. In 2015, Vallejo finished third on Boise State with 57 tackles (32 solo), tied for second with a pair of forced fumbles and tied for fourth with 8.0 tackles-for-loss over 12 games (10 starts) en route to an All-Mountain West Honorable Mention nod. Munson was named to the All-Mountain West First Team in 2015 after leading the Aztecs in multiple categories at linebacker, including tackles (98), tackles for loss (15), sacks (9.5) and fumble recoveries (2, tied).

Four MW offensive linemen landed on the Outland Trophy watch list, including Colorado State senior Fred Zerblis, Nevada junior Austin Corbett, senior Nico Siragusa of San Diego State and Wyoming senior Chase Roullier

Zerblis was named to the All-Mountain West Second Team in 2015 after helping CSU to a third consecutive bowl game appearance. Zerblis blocked for an offense that ranked third in the Mountain West with 417.0 yards per game. Corbett earned All-Mountain West Honorable Mention accolades last season after paving the way for Nevada to be one of just three teams in the nation with two 1,000-yard running backs. Siragusa anchored an offensive line that helped SDSU rush for a school-record 3,226 yards in 2015 and have a pair of 1,000-yard rushers for the first time in program history (Donnel Pumphrey and Chase Price). He was also a First-Team All-MW selection by the league’s media and coaches last year. A 2015 Second-Team All-Mountain West honoree, Roullier played a key role in blocking for record-setting Cowboy running back Brian Hill, who set a new Wyoming single-season rushing record, with his 1,631 yards.