Colorado State Men And Women Lead After Day Two of The 2016 Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Championships

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – The Colorado State men and women lead the 2016 Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Championships after the second day of competition at the Albuquerque Convention Center in Albuquerque, New Mexico.   The University of New Mexico is the host institution for the event.

Colorado State used a title win by Hunter Price in the heptathlon to open the day.  Price’s score of 5,621 was the second-highest championship total, and the third-best in league history.  But with the meet still tight, CSU used a strong showing in the 5,000 Meters to break away from the pack.  Jefferson Abbey took home the title in the 5,000 just a few seconds ahead of teammate Jerrell Mock.  Grant Fisher of the Rams was fifth and Ricardo Kaempfen was eighth as CSU scored 23 points in the event, breaking a 36-36 tie at the time with New Mexico.

On the women’s side, CSU inched into the lead of a very tight championship race on the strength of 12 late points in the pole vault.  However, Boise State is right behind with 41 points, and Wyoming and San Diego State are within striking distance, both tied for third with 32 points.

The 2016 Mountain West Indoor Championships conclude on Saturday with 22 finals, six in the field events and 16 track events.  The running events will start at noon, while field events start at 10 a.m.

Men’s Team Scores (through 6 events)
1. Colorado State - 69
2. Air Force  - 43
3. New Mexico - 41
4. Wyoming - 34
5. Utah State - 29
6. Boise State - 15

Women’s Team Scores (through 6 events)
1. Colorado State - 46
2. Boise State - 41.5
3. Wyoming - 32
San Diego State - 32
5. Nevada - 21
6. Air Force  - 14.5
7. San José State - 14
8. Utah State - 10
  New Mexico - 10
10. Fresno State  - 8
11. UNLV - 5

2016 MW Indoor Track and Field Championships – Men’s Day 2 Notes 
Men’s Heptathlon: Colorado State sophomore Hunter Price captured the title with a final score of 5,621 points. His mark is the second best in MW Indoor Championships history (Kurt Felix, Boise State, 2012, 5703) and the third best all-time in Mountain West history. With 5,621 points, Price now holds the all-time Colorado State school record. 
60 Meters – New Mexico sophomore Beau Clafton won the 60 Meter Dash with a time of 6.96. That mark is a personal best, beating his previous best time of 7.10 recorded earlier this season at the New Mexico Classic Meet.
Long Jump – Price won with a leap of 7.07 meters (23’-2.50”). 
Shot Put – Clafton recorded his second event win with a toss of 13.12 meters (43’-00.50”).    
High Jump – Price placed first with a jump of 2.08 meters (6’-9.75”). That equals his personal-best mark previously set at the Fum McGraw Invitational in 2015.
Pole VaultDaniel Lam (So., New Mexico) won the Pole Vault portion of the Heptathlon with a winning vault of 4.75 meters (15’-7.00”).
1,000 MetersTravlor Skudneski (So., Colorado State) took first in the event with a time of 2:41.40. That mark eclipses his previous best time of 2:49.86 set at this year’s CSM Alumni Classic & Multi meet.
60 Meter Hurdles – Price captured another event title, winning the 60 Meter Hurdles in 8.28.
Men’s Weight Throw: Senior Tyler Anderson of Wyoming won the Weight Throw with a toss of 19.36 meters (63’-6.25”). Anderson took second place in the event at the 2015 MW Indoor Championships. He is the first Cowboy to win the Weight Throw since Jake Shanklin in 2009. Anderson’s victory, combined with freshman Emelda Malm-Annan’s win in the women’s Weight Throw gave Wyoming a sweep in the event. 

Men’s Long Jump: In an exact repeat of last year’s meet, New Mexico placed 1-2 in the men’s long jump as senior Allan Hamilton (7.71 meters/25’-03.50”) finished first, followed by senior Yannick Roggatz (7.63 meters/25’-00.50”). Also, exactly as in 2015, Wyoming junior Scott Carter placed third. Hamilton’s mark is the third best in MW Indoor Championships history. 

Men’s High Jump: Air Force junior Taylor Smith earned gold after tying the MW Championships and all-time record with a leap of 7’-2.50”. Smith’s performance also moved him into first place in the Air Force record book. 

Men’s 5000 Meters: Junior Jefferson Abbey (14:34.11) of Colorado State edged fellow Ram junior Jerrell Mock (14:36.00) to give CSU a 1-2 finish in the men’s 5,000 Meters. Abbey finished second in the men’s 3,000 meters at the 2015 MW Indoor Championships and Mock placed fifth in the 5,000 Meters in the same meet. CSU’s last 5,000 Meter victory at the MW Indoor Championships was in 2006 (Rob Watson – 14:44.83). 

2016 MW Indoor Track and Field Championships – Women’s Day 2 Notes 
Women’s Weight Throw: Wyoming freshman Emelda Malm-Annan won the women’s Weight Throw with a toss of 19.16 meters (62’-10.50”). She is the first freshman to win the event in the history of the MW Indoor Championships and the first Wyoming athlete to win the weight toss at the MW Indoor Championships since Amanda Aimone won the event in 2009. 

Women’s Long Jump: Ja’la Henderson became the second Wyoming freshman to win an event in the 2016 MW Indoor Championships. Her winning leap in the long jump of 5.91 meters (19’-14.75”) edged the 5.90 meters of second-place finisher Cambree Harbaugh of San José State. Henderson is the first freshman to win the event at the MW Indoor Championships since BYU’s Amy Menlove in 2004. 

Women’s Pole Vault:  Bonnie Draxler of San Diego State won the pole vault for the second-consecutive year with a leap of 13-9.25. Her mark is good for the fifth-best in Championship history, topping her own mark for fifth, set last year.

Women’s 5,000 Meters: Boise State took the top two spots in the women’s 5,000 Meters with sophomore Minttu Hukka (16:57.89) in first place followed by freshman Brenna Peloquin (17:02.19). Hukka’s win is the first for Boise State in the event in MW Indoor Championships history. 

Real-time scoring and results, along with post-race interviews, event highlights and photo galleries from the 2016 MW Indoor Track & Field Championships, which runs through Saturday, February 27, are available on the Championship Central page of In addition, Saturday’s track events will be broadcast live on the Mountain West Network