Colorado State Men, New Mexico Women Lead After Day Two Of The 2015 Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Championships

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – The Colorado State men and New Mexico women lead the 2015 Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Championships after day two of competition at the Albuquerque Convention Center in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The University of New Mexico is the host institution for the event.

For the second year in a row, the Rams hold an edge over New Mexico heading into the final day. The Rams, paced by wins in the Distance Medley Relay and Weight Throw and a sweep of top three spots in the Heptathlon, have a 20-point lead over the Lobos, 65-45. Wyoming and Air Force are tied for third with 29 points with Boise State in fifth with 16 points and Utah State in sixth with eight.

On the women’s side, New Mexico is up by just one point on Colorado State 45-44, with San Diego State lurking not far behind in third with 31.5 points. Utah State is fourth with 30 points, just ahead of Boise State in fifth with 28. Fresno State (25.5), Boise State (22.5), Nevada (15.5), Air Force (11), UNLV (10) and San José State (10) round out sixth place through 11th.

Tomorrow is the final day of competition at the 2015 Mountain West Indoor Track and Field Championships, with action set to begin at 10 a.m. MT with the women’s Shot Put and the men’s High Jump. With 12 men’s events yet to be decided and 10 on the women’s side, plenty of movement is expected.

Men’s Team Scores (through 5 events)
1. Colorado State – 65; 2. New Mexico – 45; T-3. Wyoming 29, Air Force – 29; 5. Boise State – 16; 6. Utah State – 8.

Women’s Team Scores (through 7 events)
1.  New Mexico – 45; 2. Colorado State – 44; 3. San Diego State – 31.5; 4. Utah State – 30; 5. Wyoming – 28; 6. Fresno State – 25.5; 7. Boise State – 22; 8. Nevada – 15.5; 9. Air Force – 11; T-10. UNLV – 10, San José State – 10.

2015 MW Indoor Track and Field Championships – Men’s Notes
Men’s Heptathlon
Colorado State senior Justin Green repeated as the winner of the Men’s Heptathlon with a final point total of 5,600 (topping his 5,575 in 2014). Teammate Josh Cogdill (5,490 points) also repeated his 2014 performance by taking second place in the event. Another Ram, sophomore Hunter Price finished in third place, scoring 5,458 points.

Men’s Long Jump
New Mexico took first (junior Allen Hamilton – 24’11.75”) and second (junior Yannick Roggatz – 24’00.25”) in the Long Jump. It is the fourth year in a row that the event has been won by a Lobo jumper (Kendall Spencer in 2012, 2013 and 2014) and the second year in a row that Roggatz has placed second.

Men’s 60 Hurdles Prelims
Wyoming will have a strong presence in the finals of the Men’s 60 Hurdles as senior Colin Herold (8.03 seconds) and teammate, sophomore Jordan Charles (8.08) each won their preliminary heat. They will be joined on Saturday by fellow Cowboy Kyle Sullivan (8.36).

Men’s 400 Meters Prelims
The Men’s 400 Meters final is set for Saturday but the prelims had some excitement of their own as Cole Lambourne, a junior from Utah State broke the MW Championship Meet record with a time of 46.63, topping the previous best time of 46.69 set by Lewis Banda of TCU in 2006. Lambourne’s time is the third-best ever in the MW. He looks to repeat as 400 Meters champion, having taken the event in 2014 with a time of 48.36.

Men’s 60 Meters Prelims
Utah State senior Nic Bowens (6.68 seconds) will attempt to repeat as 60 Meters champion in the finals on Saturday. He is the current MW all-time record holder in the 60 Meters with a time of 6.61 seconds set at the 2014 MW Indoor Track & Field Championships. Bowens will be joined in the finals by four New Mexico Lobos, including Ridge Jones and Carlos Wiggins (both members of the UNM football team), Allan Hamilton, and Scott Berjere.

Men’s 800 Meters Prelims
Wyoming freshman Ricky Faure posted the top time of 1:50.63 in the 800 Meters prelims. That time is the fourth fastest in MW Championship meet history.

Men’s 200 Meters Prelims
Bowens’ 21.06 seconds in the 200 Meters prelim is the fastest time heading into Saturday’s final. It is also the fourth-fastest time ever posted in MW Championships history. Bowens will seek to repeat as the 200 Meters winner in the MW Championships after posting a time of 21.11 seconds in the 2014 meet.

Men’s 5000 Meters Final
Adam Bitchell won the event with a time of 14:30.17. Bitchell placed second in last year’s MW Championship.

Men’s Weight Throw
Colorado State senior Jake Schneeberger won the Men’s Weight Throw with a toss of 66’10.75”.

2015 MW Indoor Track and Field Championships – Women’s Notes
Women’s Weight Throw: Colorado State senior Kiah Hicks won her second straight women’s Weight Throw title with a strong fifth throw (68’-10.75”). Last year, Hicks threw the third-longest distance in Mountain West history (70’-3.50”) to win her first MW title.

Women’s Long Jump: Fresno State senior Je’Nia Sears captured her second MW title in the women’s Long Jump. She claimed the victory on her second attempt of the finals (20’-7.00”). Her first Long Jump title came at the 2013 MW Championships (19’-9.50”).

Women’s Pole Vault: San Diego State freshman Bonnie Drexler claimed her first Mountain West title in the Pole Vault (13’-8.50”) over her senior teammate Kortney Ross (13’-00.75”). That mark puts Drexler fifth on the Mountain West Championship record list.

Women’s High Jump: Colorado State senior Jazmyn Webster claimed her first career High Jump title, tying the fifth-best height in Mountain West Championship history (5’-11.25”).

Women’s 5,000 Meters: After a couple laps into the race, New Mexico freshman Alice Wright took control of the pack the rest of the way to win the women’s 5,000 Meters (16:31.85) which is a new Mountain West Championship meet record.

Women’s Distance Medley Relay: For the first time in Mountain West Championship history, New Mexico claimed the women’s Distance Medley Relay title (11:48.59) edging Colorado State’s time (11:49.54) which is the fifth-fastest time in Mountain West history and fourth on the championship meet list. Utah State came in third (11:54.62).

Women’s 60 Hurdles Prelims: New Mexico junior Holly VanGrinsven claimed the top women’s 60 hurdles qualifying time (8.27) which goes down as the second-fastest time in Mountain West Championship history and fourth all-time in Mountain West history.

Real-time scoring and results, along with post-race interviews, event highlights and photo galleries from the 2015 MW Indoor Track & Field Championships, which runs through Saturday, Feb. 28, are available on the Championship Central page of at!/page/championship_c-itrack. In addition, Saturday’s track events will be broadcast live on the Mountain West Network. Fans can watch those events at!/watch-live.