Colorado State Sweeps Multi Events On Day Two Of 2016 Mountain West Outdoor Track & Field Championships

CLOVIS, Calif. – The first four champions of the 2016 Mountain West Outdoor Track & Field Championships were crowned on the second day of competition at Veterans Memorial Stadium in Clovis, Calif.

Colorado State’s Jessica Green was the first to earn a medal after winning the Heptathlon with 5,552 points. Green won a total of two disciplines out the seven over the two-day event. On Friday, she placed first in the Javelin with a distance of 39.08 meters (128’-2.00”) after winning the High Jump on Thursday. The senior finished as the runner up in the 2015 MW Championship, taking fifth in 2014 and eighth in 2013. Her point total was the second-highest total in the Heptathlon in Colorado State history. 

Nevada’s Nicole Wadden finished in second place with 5,508 points. Wadden placed first in two of the Heptathlon events over the past two days. She cut Green’s lead to 45 points when she took third in the Long Jump with a season-best distance of 5.73 meters (18’-9.00”). San Diego State’s Kassidy Ellis rounded out the top three with 5,238 points, which was aided by her Long Jump distance of 5.76 meters (18’-10.00”).

In the men’s Decathlon, Josh Cogdill of Colorado State secured back-to-back MW championships in the event by logging a point total of 7,149. The junior placed within the top three in four events over the last two days. Cogdill threw a season-best 60.03 meters (196’-11.00”) in the Javelin to jump from third place to first. Cogdill finished fifth in the 1500 Meters to complete his title.

New Mexico’s Daniel Lam placed second with 7,047 points. Lam claimed first in the Pole Vault with a mark of 4.70 meters (15’-5.00”) and also in the Discus with a distance of 41.62 meters (136’-6.00”). Nick Kravec of Colorado State finished in the top three with a total of 7,003 points aided by his third-place time in the 110-Meter Hurdles.

By winning the Decathlon and Heptathlon, CSU becomes the second program in Conference history, and only current Mountain West member, to win both events in back-to-back years.

On the track, Boise State’s Elijah Armstrong became the first freshman to win the 10,000 Meters since 2001, and just the second freshman overall in league history. Armstrong finished with a time of 30:08.25. He shifted into another gear over the final 100 meters to pass Air Force senior Patrick Corona. There were only .09 seconds between first and second place. 2015 champion Kyle Eller from Air Force finished in third with a time of 30:69.69. 

On the women’s side, junior Calli Thackery of New Mexico ran the first 10,000 Meters of her collegiate career and took first place with a time of 34:30.24. Thackery’s victory is the second MW championship in New Mexico program history in the event. This is the Lobos’ second-consecutive year winning the race. Her mark ranks second all-time in Conference Championship history. Darby Gilfillan of Colorado State finished in second with a time of 35:30.45. Air Force’s Lindy Long took the bronze with a mark of 35:58.26. 

Day three of the 2016 Mountain West Outdoor Track & Field Championships starts with field events beginning at 3:30 p.m. PT and track events at 4:30 p.m. PT.

Real-time scoring and results, along with post-race interviews, event highlights and photo galleries from the 2016 MW Outdoor Track & Field Championships, which runs through Saturday, May 14, are available on the Championship Central page of In addition, Thursday, Friday and Saturday’s track events will be broadcast live and free of charge on the Mountain West Network

Women’s Event Notes
  • Jessica Green won the MW Championship in the heptathlon for the first time in her career after finishing as runner-up in 2015.
  • First in 2016, second in 2015 , fifth in 2014 and 8th in 2013.
  • Won the event with 5,552 points, which ranks as the second-highest total in the heptathlon in CSU history.
  • Colorado state claimed 16 team points placing first (Jessica Green), fifth (Monica Franco) and seventh (Brittany Lewis).
  • All three Colorado State competitors in the field placed.
  • Green led the Heptathlon after day one with a 75-point lead.

10,000 Meters
  • Calli Thackery (34:30.24) is the second-straight Lobo to win the 10,000 meters (Alice Wright in 2015), and second MW championship in program history in the event.
  • Thackery finished 1:00.21 ahead of Colorado State’s Darby Gilfillan.
  • It was the first time in her career that she has run the 10,000 Meters.
  • Thackery finished seventh overall at the 2015 NCAA Cross Country Championships as a member of New Mexico’s national championship team.

Men’s Event Notes
  • Josh Cogdill (7,149) wins back-to-back MW championships in the Decathlon.
  • Cogdill began the second day of competition in third place, 270 points behind teammate Hunter Price.
  • Colorado State finished the decathlon in first (Cogdill), third (Nick Kravec) and fifth Hunter Price).
  • Cogdill jumped from third to first after the javelin with a throw of 60.03 meters, topping his season best of 52.62 meters. Throw was just shy of 10 meters further than Daniel Lam of New Mexico who he was trailing. 

10,000 Meters
  • Elijah Armstrong (30:08.25) is the first freshman to win the MW championship in the 10,000 Meters since New Mexico’s Ben Ortega in 2001.
  • Second freshman in conference history to win the event.
  • The win was Boise State’s first MW Championship in the men’s 10,000 Meters.
  • Armstrong overtook Air Force’s Patrick Corona (30:08.34) in the final 100 meters.
  • Tonight’s 10,000 Meters was the first that Corona has run in his Air Force track career
  • 2015 champion Kyler Eller (30:13.69) of Air Force finished third.
  • Air Force placed two in the top three for the second-straight year and third time in the last four years.