Eight MW Athletes Named To John Mackey, Rimington Trophy Watch Lists

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – A total of eight Mountain West football student-athletes were named to the 2015 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List and the Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List on Wednesday.

Colorado State’s Kivon Cartwright and Steven Walker, San José State’s Billy Freeman, Nevada’s Jarred Gipson and UNLV’s Jake Phillips appeared on the John Mackey Award list, an award given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end. Colorado State is one of two schools nationally to have multiple players named to the John Mackey Award list.

Walker earned first-team All-Mountain West honors in 2014 after catching 30 passes for 279 yards and four touchdowns, while Gipson, who hauled in 33 receptions for 291 yards and four touchdowns, earned second-team all-conference honors last season.

A midseason watch list will be announced on Oct. 12, followed by a list of semifinalists on Nov. 16 and finalists on Nov. 24. The winner will be announced Dec. 9, prior to The Home Depot College Football Awards Show in Atlanta, Ga., the following day.

The Rimington Trophy, which honors the most outstanding center, has Boise State’s Marcus Henry, Fresno State’s Bo Bonnheim and Utah State’s Austin Stephens included on the list. In 2014, Henry earned first-team All-MW honors while Stephens earned honorable mention accolades. Henry and Bonnheim, both seniors entering the 2015 season, helped pave the way for all-conference running backs in 2014. Henry and the Broncos rushed for 213.9 yards per game, while Bonnheim helped the Bulldogs rush for 182.4 yards per contest.

As the season progresses, the Rimington Trophy Committee will watch all players and will announce its finalists on Dec. 7.