Fresno State, San Diego State Headed To 2015 NCAA Division I Softball Championship

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – For the first time since 2011 the Mountain West will send multiple teams to the NCAA Division I Softball Championship, as two teams qualified for the 2015 NCAA Division I Softball Championship. Fresno State earned the Conference’s automatic bid by virtue of winning the regular-season title, while San Diego State is headed to its eighth-consecutive NCAA tournament after garnering an at-large bid.

The Bulldogs (40-14), winners of their last 11 games and 17-3 over its final 20 contests, are headed to the Eugene Regional and will take on North Dakota State (43-9) on Thursday. Oregon (46-6), the No. 2 overall seed in the field of 64, plays BYU (39-12) in the other matchup. Game times and broadcast details will be announced in the coming days. Fresno State played Oregon on March 8 and fell 3-0. They did not play North Dakota State or BYU this season.

San Diego State (36-18) finished second in the MW after winning the league championship each of the last three years. The Aztecs, who closed the 2015 regular-season with six straight victories, will play in the Los Angeles Regional, hosted by No. 7 UCLA (45-10). San Diego State opens play on Friday at 3 p.m. PT on ESPN3 versus Texas (36-15). The Bruins take on Cal State Northridge (41-15) to round out the regional. San Diego State has not faced Texas or Cal State Northridge this season, but did play UCLA back on Feb. 8 and lost 4-1.

All rounds of the 2015 NCAA Division I Softball Championship are contested in a double-elimination format.