Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl Announces Afternoon Kickoff on Tuesday, Dec. 29, 2015


FORT WORTH, Texas - The annual Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl will be played in Fort Worth, Texas, on Tuesday, December 29, 2015, officials announced today. The 13th edition of the postseason college football bowl game will kick off at 1 p.m. CT (2 p.m. ET) from Amon G. Carter Stadium on the campus of TCU and will be aired by ESPN.


This year's Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl will feature a team from the Mountain West Conference versus a team from the Big Ten Conference. The annual game, played in honor of the armed forces of the United States, is the only collegiate football bowl game that has hosted all three U.S. Military Academy football teams. The U.S. Military Academy (2010), the U.S. Air Force Academy (2007-2009, 2012) and the U.S. Naval Academy (2013) have all previously participated in the bowl.


"Fort Worth is a great college football town and we know our community will really enjoy an afternoon kickoff to honor our armed forces past and present," said Brant Ringler, Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl executive director. "We always enjoy hosting the Mountain West Conference and look forward to having the Big Ten Conference in our game for the first time ever."


This will be the second time the Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl will be played on December 29, with the first coming in 2012. In its first 12 years, the event has been held on Dec. 23 (2003-2006), Dec. 29 (2012), Dec. 30 (2010-2011, 2013), Dec. 31 (2007-2009) and Jan. 2 (2015).


Last year's game saw the University of Houston score 29 fourth quarter points to improbably defeat the University of Pittsburgh 35-34, capping an eventful 8-5 season for the Cougars in front of an announced crowd of 37,888 and a national TV audience on ESPN. Houston recovered two consecutive onside kicks, and eventually completed a two point conversion following their last touchdown to seal the victory.


The Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl has featured the "armed forces" theme since 2006. Patriotic overtones recognizing all five branches of the service are prevalent throughout the game. Past Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowls have included fan-fest adventure areas showcasing armed forces hardware; flyovers; demonstrations by several of the military's top skydiving teams; custom homes awarded to wounded warriors; on-field induction ceremonies; armed forces bands and honor guards; and the annual Great American Patriot Award presented by Armed Forces Insurance.


The bowl game also sponsors the Armed Forces Merit Award presented by the Football Writers Association of America. For additional information about the Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl, please visit ArmedForcesBowl.com, Facebook.com/ArmedForcesBowl or Twitter.com/ArmedForcesBowl.


The Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl is one of 13 bowl games owned and operated by ESPN Events, a subsidiary of ESPN.


ESPN Events
ESPN Events, a subsidiary of ESPN, owns and operates a large portfolio of collegiate sporting events worldwide. The roster includes three Labor Day weekend college football games; 13 college bowl games, nine college basketball events and two college award shows, which accounts for approximately 250-plus hours of programming, reaches almost 64 million viewers and attracts over 700,000 attendees each year. With satellite offices in Boca Raton, Boise, Birmingham, Dallas-Fort Worth, Albuquerque, St. Petersburg and Las Vegas, ESPN Events builds relationships with conferences, schools and local communities, as well as providing unique experiences for teams and fans.


ESPN Events also manages the Big 12 Corporate Partner Program.


Collegiate Football
AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl (Houston); AdvoCare Texas Kickoff (Houston); Popeyes Bahamas Bowl (Nassau); Birmingham Bowl (Alabama); Boca Raton Bowl (Florida); Celebration Bowl (Atlanta); Famous Idaho Potato Bowl (Boise); Gildan New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque); Hawai‘i Bowl (Honolulu); Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth); MEAC/SWAC Challenge presented by Disney (Orlando, Fla.); Orlando Kickoff (Florida); Raycom Media Camellia Bowl (Montgomery, Ala.); Royal Purple Las Vegas Bowl (Nevada); St. Petersburg Bowl (Florida); The Home Depot College Football Awards (Orlando, Fla.) and Zaxby's Heart of Dallas Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth)


Collegiate Basketball
Armed Forces Classic (Marine Corps Base Camp Smedley D. Butler, Okinawa, Japan); DIRECTV Wooden Legacy (Orange County, Calif.); College Basketball Awards Presented by Wendy's (Los Angeles); Gildan Charleston Classic (South Carolina); Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Honolulu); Jimmy V Men's Classic Presented by Corona (New York City); Jimmy V Women's Classic Presented by Corona (Hartford/Storrs, Conn.); Orlando Classic (Walt Disney World Resort near Orlando, Fla.); Puerto Rico Tip-Off (San Juan, PR) and State Farm Champions Classic (Chicago)


For more information, visit www.espnevents.com or follow on Twitter and Facebook.