Media All-Mountain West Men's Basketball Honors

FORT COLLINS, Colo. – Wyoming senior guard Josh Adams has been voted the Mountain West men’s basketball Player of the Year by members of the media who cover the conference.

Adams, from Parker, Colorado, earned seven of 11 player of the year votes, with the remaining first-place votes going to Fresno State senior Marvelle Harris. Adams is college basketball’s fourth-leading scorer at 24.4 points per game (23.5 ppg in MW competition), and averaged 5.6 rebounds and 4.3 assists per outing. He led the conference with 94 made 3-pointers.

Adams and Harris were accompanied on the All-MW first team by Boise State junior James Webb III and sophomore Elijah Brown and junior Tim Williams of New Mexico.

Coach of the Year was awarded to San Diego State’s Steve Fisher, who beat out Rodney Terry (Fresno State) and Eric Musselman (Nevada). Brown, a transfer from Butler, earned Newcomer of the Year honors. Nevada’s Cameron Oliver was named Freshman of the Year while teammate Tyron Criswell, a senior, was named Sixth Man of the Year. San Diego State senior Skylar Spencer was voted Defensive Player of the Year.

Every Mountain West market was represented in all-conference voting. In markets where more than one outlet covers a team closely, reporters from competing publications put together a joint ballot.

Voters ranked their top 15 players for first-, second- and third-team All-MW with their player of the year pick receiving 15 points and the last man on the third-team receiving one point.

1st Team
Josh Adams, Wyoming, Sr. – 160 points (7)
Marvelle Harris, Fresno State, Sr. – 156 (4)
James Webb III, Boise State, Jr. – 137
Elijah Brown, New Mexico, So. – 135
Tim Williams, New Mexico, Jr. – 104

2nd Team
Marqueze Coleman, Nevada, Sr. – 95
Winston Shepard, San Diego State, Sr. – 80
Patrick McCaw, UNLV, So. – 72
Cameron Oliver, Nevada, Fr. – 61
Antwan Scott, Colorado State, Sr. – 47

3rd Team
Jalen Moore, Utah State, Jr. – 44
Chris Smith, Utah State, Sr. – 43
Jeremy Hemsley, San Diego State, Fr. – 40
Trey Kell, San Diego State, So. – 36
Mikey Thompson, Boise State, Sr. – 23

Honorable mention: Hayden Graham, Air Force; Anthony Drmic, Boise State; Emmanuel Omogbo and Tiel Daniels, Colorado State; Cullen Russo, Fresno State; Skylar Spencer, San Diego State; Stephen Zimmerman Jr., UNLV; Jason McManamen, Wyoming.
Player of the Year: Josh Adams, Wyoming (7)
Coach of the Year: Steve Fisher, San Diego State (7)
Newcomer of the Year: Elijah Brown, New Mexico (6)
Freshman of the Year: Cameron Oliver, Nevada (7)
Defensive Player of the Year: Skylar Spencer, San Diego State (5)
Sixth Man of the Year: Tyron Criswell, Nevada (5)

Others receiving award votes
Player of the Year: Marvelle Harris, Fresno State.
Coach of the Year: Eric Musselman, Nevada; Rodney Terry, Fresno State.
Newcomer of the Year: Tim Williams, New Mexico
Freshman of the Year: Jeremy Hemsley, San Diego State.
Defensive Player of the Year: Cameron Oliver, Nevada; Patrick McCaw, UNLV.
Sixth Man of the Year: Brandon Clarke and Princeton Onwas, San Jose State; Cullen Russo, Fresno State.