Mountain West Announces 2014-15 SAAC Community Service Awards

LAS VEGAS – The Mountain West announced its 2014-15 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Community Service Award winner and inaugural All-MW SAAC Community Service Team today.   

For the 10th consecutive academic year, the MW SAAC challenged each other’s institution in a league-wide competition for the Community Service Award.  This year’s contest had the league’s institutions counting their total hours of assistance while participating in various service activities around their respective communities.

From April 2014 to February 2015, the 11 MW institutions tallied 33,039 hours of community service.  The University of Nevada registered 5,805 hours of service to win its first-ever MW SAAC Community Service Award.  Fresno State finished second with 4,725 service hours and the University of Wyoming was third with 4,110 hours. 

The award will be presented to representatives from the University of Nevada during its men’s basketball team’s opening contest against UNLV on Wednesday, March 11 at 2:30 p.m. PT at the 2015 Mountain West Men’s and Women’s Basketball Championships.

In conjunction with the MW Community Service Challenge, the Conference also announced its foundational All-MW SAAC Community Service Team.  In a continuing effort to recognize the accomplishments of student-athletes beyond the field of competition, one student-athlete from each institution who went above and beyond helping to promote and participate in community service activities was recognized for their efforts.  The following student-athletes comprise the 2014-15 All-MW SAAC Community Service Team:

Daron Williamson, Cheer – Air Force Academy
Austin Hamilton, Men’s Track & Field – Boise State University
Jaelyn Manzanares, Softball – Colorado State University
Marcy Levatino, Women’s Lacrosse – Fresno State
Erin Fuss, Women’s Swimming – University of Nevada
Hugh Greenwood, Men’s Basketball – University of New Mexico
Lauren Gierke, Women’s Lacrosse – San Diego State University
Kayla Nakamoto, Women’s Swimming & Diving – San José State University
Sadie Stutzman, Women’s Volleyball – UNLV
Janelle Nguyen, Women’s Swimming & Diving – UNLV
Kaitlyn Betts, Women’s Gymnastics – Utah State University          
Mikalah Skates, Women’s Track & Field – University of Wyoming

The Mountain West also would like to recognize the student-athlete advisory committees from all 11 of its institutions for their hard work and efforts on the 2014-15 MW SAAC Community Service Project.  For more information on the MW SAAC and to view photos from various community service activities, like the MW SAAC Facebook page ( and follow the MW SAAC on Twitter (@MW_SAAC).