Mountain West Announces 2014-15 Women's Golf Individual Honors


2015 MW Women's Golf Championship Central
Follow @MW_OlySports on Twitter Twitter | Mountain West Network


RANCHO MIRAGE, Calif. - The Mountain West announced its 2014-15 Women's Golf individual awards at the conclusion of its championship today at the Dinah Shore Tournament Course at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, California. UNLV senior Dana Finkelstein was selected as MW Golfer of the Year for the third consecutive season, while her teammate Harley Dubsky was named the Conference's Freshman of the Year, as determined by a vote of the league's nine women's golf head coaches.


Finkelstein entered this week's Mountain West Championship ranked sixth according to the GolfWeek/Sagarin rankings and 18th by GolfStat. She currently leads the Conference in scoring average at 71.50 strokes per round. The senior from Chandler, Arizona, has recorded six top-five and seven top-10 finishes this season, including two individual victories. Finkelstein is the fourth senior to capture the league's top honor and the first UNLV women's golfer to earn the Conference Player of the Year award three times in her career. She is also the fifth Rebel ever to earn the honor (Sunny Oh, 2003-04; Elena Kurokawa, 2004-05; Da Sol Chung, 2005-06; and Therese Koelbaek, 2010-11. Finkelstein also becomes the second player in Mountain West history to win three consecutive Golfer of the Year plaudits, joining New Mexico's Jodi Ewart, who received the honor from 2006-07 to 2009-10.


Dubsky earned Freshman of the Year honors after averaging a score of 72.96 during the 2014-15 regular season. The product of Valparaiso, Indiana, Dubsky has eight top-20 finishes to her credit this season, including four in the top-10. She is currently ranked No. 35 by GolfStat and No. 47 in the GolfWeek/Sagarin rankings. Dubsky is the sixth UNLV golfer to capture MW Freshman of the Year accolades, joining Finkelstein and Mayko Chwen Wang (2011-12), Therese Koelbaek (2007-08), Dal Sol Chung (2005-06) and Sunny Oh (2002-03).


The Conference will announce its All-Conference team and Coach of the Year during the week of April 27.