Mountain West Announces 2015-16 SAAC Community Service Awards

LAS VEGAS – The Mountain West announced its 2015-16 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Community Service Award winner and All-MW SAAC Community Service Team today.    

For the 11th consecutive academic year, the MW SAAC challenged each other’s institution in a league-wide competition for the Community Service Award.  This year’s contest had the league’s institutions counting their total hours of assistance while participating in various service activities around their respective communities.

From April 2015 to February 2016, the 11 MW institutions tallied 50,475 hours of community service.  The University of Nevada registered 9,385 hours of service to win its second straight MW SAAC Community Service Award.  UNLV finished second with 8,926 service hours and Air Force was third with 5,780 hours.  

The award was presented to representatives from the University of Nevada during its men’s basketball team’s opening contest against New Mexico on Thursday, March 10 at 2:30 p.m. PT at the 2016 Mountain West Men’s and Women’s Basketball Championships.

In conjunction with the MW Community Service Challenge, the Conference also announced its All-MW SAAC Community Service Team.  In a continuing effort to recognize the accomplishments of student-athletes beyond the field of competition, one student-athlete from each institution who went above and beyond helping to promote and participate in community service activities was recognized for their efforts.  The following student-athletes comprise the 2015-16 All-MW SAAC Community Service Team:

Daron Williamson, Cheer – Air Force Academy
Dana Clary, Women’s Golf – Boise State University
Mitch Parsons, Football – Colorado State University
Danielle Powers, Women’s Swimming & Diving – Fresno State
Julia Shelbourn, Women’s Basketball – University of Nevada
Eva Saulnier, Women’s Golf – University of New Mexico
Zack Oakley, Baseball – San Diego State University
Alli Davis, Women’s Swimming & Diving – San José State University
Sadie Stutzman, Women’s Volleyball – UNLV
Devin Wright, Men’s Track & Field – Utah State University
Mikalah Skates, Women’s Track & Field – University of Wyoming

The Mountain West also would like to recognize the student-athlete advisory committees from all 11 of its institutions for their hard work and efforts on the 2015-16 MW SAAC Community Service Project.  For more information on the MW SAAC and to view photos from various community service activities, like the MW SAAC Facebook page ( and follow the MW SAAC on Twitter (@MW_SAAC).