Mountain West Announces 2015 Women’s Soccer All-Conference Teams


MW Women's Soccer All-Conference Team Announcement on the Mountain West Network

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Prior to the beginning of the 2015 Mountain West Women’s Soccer Championship, the Conference released its All-Conference teams and individual award winners on Monday. Colorado College senior Sarah Schweiss was tabbed the MW Offensive Player of the Year, while San José State’s Zoe Makrigiannis and Leah Pruitt of San Diego State garnered Defensive and Freshman of the Year honors, respectively. San José State head coach Lauren Hanson was named the Coach of the Year. The individual awards and All-MW teams were selected by the League’s 12 head coaches.

Schweiss collects the first individual accolade for the Tigers in their second year in the MW. The forward paced the Conference in goals with nine and finished second in points with 18. The Monument, Colorado, native topped the Mountain West in shots with 53 and notched a league-best six game-winning goals.

Makrigiannis concludes her career as a Spartan with the first MW Defensive Player of the Year honor in the programs third season of competition in the Conference. The senior goalkeeper anchored a defensive unit which surrendered a Conference-low 0.54 goals per match and finished with the most shutouts in the MW (6). Individually, Makrigiannis topped the league with a goals-against average of 0.51 and shutouts with six.

Pruitt helped guide the Aztecs to their fourth-consecutive MW regular-season title thanks to a Conference-best 20 points. The Rancho Cucamonga, California, native finished second in goals scored in MW play with eight and tied for fourth in assists with four. Pruitt becomes the first San Diego State player to garner Freshman of the Year accolades since Haley Palmer in 2010.

Hanson coached San José State to its first appearance in the Mountain West Championship after finishing with an 8-3-0 league mark. In just their third season in the Conference, Hanson guided the Spartans to the second seed for the MW Championship. SJSU surrendered a league-low 0.54 goals per match and finished with the most shutouts in the MW (6).

Four-time regular season and three-time defending tournament champion San Diego State led all teams with nine All-Conference honorees, including three first-team members, three second-team honorees and three honorable mention performers.

The 2015 MW Women’s Soccer Championship is set for Tuesday, Nov. 3, Thursday, Nov. 5 and Saturday, Nov. 7 at the SDSU Sports Deck on the campus of San Diego State University. All five matches of the six-team, single-elimination tournament will be broadcast live and free of charge on the Mountain West Network. For more information on the Championship, visit the 2015 MW Women’s Soccer Championship Central page.


2015 Mountain West Women's Soccer All-Conference First Team
Name Cl. Pos. Institution
Brooke Heidemann Sr. MF Boise State
Sarah Schweiss Sr. F Colorado College
Madisyn Olguin Sr. F New Mexico
Stacie Moran So. D San Diego State
Milan Moses Fr. MF San Diego State
Leah Pruitt Fr. F San Diego State
Dorthe Hoppius So. F San José State
Zoe Makrigiannis Sr. GK San José State
Darlene Rodriguez Sr. MF San José State
Jessica Brooksby Jr. F Utah State
Shaina Ashouri So. F Wyoming


2015 Mountain West Women's Soccer All-Conference Second Team
Name Cl. Pos. Institution
Angela Karamanos So. MF Air Force
Ally Swift Sr. F Air Force
Hailey DeVries Jr. D Boise State
Myra Delgadillo So. F Fresno State
Maria Gomez So. MF Fresno State
Maddie Irwin Jr. MF New Mexico
Cassie Ulrich Sr. GK New Mexico
Victoria Barba Jr. MF San Diego State
Angela Mitchell So. F San Diego State
Melanie Vaughn Sr. GK San Diego State
Darriell Franklin Fr. F San José State
Denali Murnan Sr. MF UNLV


2015 Mountain West Women's Soccer All-Conference Honorable Mention
Name Cl. Pos. Institution
Baylee Blaser Jr. F Boise State
Alexis Long Sr. D Colorado College
Lauren Milliet Fr. MF Colorado College
Daisha Jones-Oglesby Sr. F Nevada
Emily Chavez So. D New Mexico
Dylann O'Connor So. D New Mexico
Ashley Hauke Sr. D San Diego State
Jennifer Rupey Jr. D San Diego State
Aliyah Utush So. F San Diego State
Rachel Docherty Sr. D San José State
Wesley Hamblin So. MF Utah State
Alisha Bass So. D Wyoming
Cassidy Entsminger Fr. GK Wyoming


Offensive Player of the Year: Sarah Schweiss, Sr., F, Colorado College
Defensive Player of the Year: Zoe Makrigiannis, Sr., GK, San José State
Freshman of the Year: Leah Pruitt, Fr., F, San Diego State
Coach of the Year: Lauren Hanson, San José State