Mountain West Announces 2016 Men's Tennis All-Conference Awards

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West announced its 2015-16 All-Conference team and individual awards for men's tennis this evening, as selected by the league's eight head coaches.

Utah State sophomore Jaime Barajas was tabbed the Player of the Year, while Boise State’s Kyle Butters garnered Freshman of the Year honors. Barajas becomes the first Aggie to earn MW Player of the Year accolades since the program joined the league prior to the 2014 season. Butters is the second Boise State player to earn a postseason MW individual award and the first to be named Freshman of the Year. 

Barajas posted a 24-8 overall singles record, including a 15-6 dual record from the No. 1 position. His 15 wins at the No. 1 spot set a new Utah State record. In Mountain West matches, the sophomore went a perfect 5-0. Barajas went 3-1 against regionally ranked opponents. In doubles play, the Woodland Hills, California, native posted a combined record of 17-7. 

Butters recorded a team-best 22 singles wins overall on the season. The freshman tallied 17 victories in dual matches, which included a perfect 7-0 mark in Conference tilts. Butters posted an unblemished 12-0 record at the No. 4 position. In doubles play, the Wanganui, New Zealand, native notched an 11-5 record at the No. 1 doubles spot with teammate Toby Mitchell

The 2015-16 All-MW team is comprised of 12 singles players and six doubles pairs. New Mexico’s Hayden Sabatka lands on the All-Conference singles team for the third consecutive season. Euan McIntosh of Fresno State and Freddy Gelbrich and Hendrik Jebens of San Diego State each earned inclusion on the All-Conference singles team for the second time in their careers. For the second-consecutive season, Sabatka and Bart Van Leijsen were voted to the all-league doubles squad. 

2015-16 Men’s Tennis All-Mountain West Team
Jack McCullers, Sr., Air Force
Brian Foley, Sr., Boise State
*Euan McIntosh, Jr., Fresno State
Nikolas Papic, Sr., Fresno State
**Hayden Sabatka, Jr., New Mexico
Bart Van Leijsen, So., New Mexico
*Freddy Gelbrich, Sr., San Diego State
*Hendrik Jebens, Jr., San Diego State
Jakob Amilon, Jr., UNLV
Alexandr Cozbinov, So., UNLV
Jaime Barajas, So., Utah State
Jack Swindells, Jr., Utah State

Jack McCullers, Sr./Tadhg Collins, Fr., Air Force
Toby Mitchell, Sr./Kyle Butters, Fr., Boise State
^Mantas Bugailiskis, Fr./Euan McIntosh, Jr., Fresno State
*Hayden Sabatka, Jr./Bart Van Leijsen, So., New Mexico
Santiago Cevallos, So./Milen Ianakiev, Jr., San Diego State
Jakob Amilon, Jr./Ruben Alberts, So., UNLV

*notes two-time selection
**notes three-time selection
^McIntosh earned All-Conference honors in 2014-15 with a different partner.