Mountain West Announces 2016 Men's Tennis Championship Bracket

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – For the first time since joining the Conference, Utah State has earned the No. 1 seed for the 2016 Mountain West Men’s Tennis Championship. The Aggies (21-7 overall) posted a 6-1 record in league play to garner the top seed. 

The 2016 MW Men’s Tennis Championship, hosted by UNLV, will be held April 29-May 1 at the Fertitta Tennis Complex in Las Vegas, Nevada. Quarterfinal action begins Friday, April 29 at 9 a.m. PT. The semifinals will be played on Saturday, April 30 at 3 p.m. PT and 6 p.m. PT, with the championship match slated for 2 p.m. PT on Sunday, May 1. All seven matches of the Championship will be broadcast live and for free on the Mountain West Network. 

No. 1 seed Utah State will open the Championship versus No. 8 Fresno State (9-16, 0-6 MW) in the quarterfinals on Friday. Boise State (18-9), San Diego State (10-13) and UNLV (12-9) each finished with a 5-2 record in Conference matches. The Broncos earned the No. 2 seed by virtue of having a higher ITA ranking and are followed by San Diego State as the No. 3 seed and UNLV as the No. 4 seed. 

New Mexico (15-15, 2-4 MW) is the No. 5 seed and will play the host Rebels in the quarterfinals. Air Force (7-17, 2-5 MW) garnered the No. 6 seed by virtue of a head-to-head victory over Nevada (6-15, 2-5 MW) which is the No. 7 seed. The Falcons open the Championship versus No. 3 San Diego State, while the Wolf Pack challenge No. 2 seed Boise State. 

For more information on the 2016 Mountain West Men’s Tennis Championship, including live stream and live results links, visit the Championship Central Page on