Mountain West Announces 2016 Women's Tennis Championship Bracket

Full Bracket

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – For the third consecutive year, Fresno State has earned the No. 1 seed in the Mountain West Women’s Tennis Championship. The Bulldogs enter the tournament with a 17-8 overall record, including 4-0 in Conference action. They earned the top seed as the highest-ranked MW team in the ITA national rankings.

The 2016 MW Women’s Tennis Championship will be held April 28-May 1 at the University Tennis Complex in Fort Collins, Colorado. First-round action begins Thursday, April 28 at 10 a.m. MT, with the quarterfinals on Friday, April 29, starting at 10 a.m. MT. The semifinals will be played on Saturday, April 30 at 10 a.m. MT and 2 p.m. MT, with the championship match slated for 11 a.m. MT on Sunday, May 1. The semifinals and championship matches will be broadcast live and for free on the Mountain West Network.

New Mexico earned the No. 2 seed after finishing the regular season with a 14-6 overall record and 5-0 mark in league play. UNLV (21-1, 5-1), who posted more than 20 victories in a season for only the second time in program history since 1991, is the No. 3 seed and San José State (11-9, 2-2) is the No. 4 seed.

Boise State (12-9, 4-2) will be the No. 5 seed and Wyoming (10-11, 3-2) received the No. 6 seed. Nevada earned the No. 7 seed with an 8-10 overall record, including 1-3 in MW play and Air Force (13-11, 1-4) is the No. 8 seed. Utah State (10-12, 2-3), San Diego State (6-16, 0-4) and Colorado State (5-14, 0-6) round out the bracket as the ninth, 10th and 11th seeds, respectively.

For complete coverage of the 2016 Mountain West Women’s Tennis Championship, which will broadcast the semifinals and championship matches, visit