Mountain West Announces Men's Golf All-Conference and Individual Awards


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West announced its 2015-16 Men’s Golf All-Conference team and individual awards today as selected by the 11 head coaches. San Diego State junior Nahum Mendoza III was named the Mountain West Golfer of the Year, while Harry Hall of UNLV was chosen as the MW Freshman of the Year. MW Coach of the Year honors went to Joe Jensen of Wyoming.

Mendoza is currently ranked 13th by Golfstat and 14th by Golfweek. He has placed in the top-10 in seven of the nine tournaments he has played in this season, including a tie for third at last week’s Mountain West Men’s Golf Championship in Tucson, Arizona. He is the fifth San Diego State golfer to earn the award. Lars Johansson was the first Aztec to be named MW Golfer of the Year in 2000-01. John Lieber earned the award in 2001-02, followed by Aaron Goldberg in 2007-08 and J.J. Spaun in 2011-12. Mendoza leads the Mountain West with a 70.48 stroke average over 27 rounds.

Hall boasts a 72.59 stroke average and has posted four top-10 finishes this season. He is the seventh UNLV golfer to be named MW Freshman of the Year and second in a row after teammate John Oda garnered the award in 2014-15.

Jensen led Wyoming to seven top-5 tournament finishes in 2015-16. At last week’s 2016 MW Championship, the Cowboys posted the second-lowest team score of the final round at 7-under 281 to help them place sixth overall. Wyoming finished the tournament under par (3-under 861) for the first time in MW championship history and had its best Conference placing since 2005, when it also finished sixth. This is Jensen’s first career Mountain West Coach of the Year honor.

The 2015-16 MW Men’s Golf All-Conference team consists of 10 individuals. Mendoza and Ryann Ree of San Diego State, along with John Oda of UNLV, earned All-Conference accolades for the second straight year. San Diego State senior Ricardo Michelini, who was the 2012-13 MW Freshman of the Year, and UNLV senior Zane Thomas return to the all-league team after also being honored in 2013-14. Fresno State junior Trevor Clayton, who won medalist honors at last week’s MW Golf Championship, is the second Bulldog golfer to be named to the all-league team since Fresno State joined the MW in 2012 (Rufie Fessler in 2012-13).

2015-16 All-Mountain West Men's Golf Team
Name Cl. Institution
Trevor Clayton Jr. Fresno State
Andrej Bevins Jr. New Mexico
Gustavo Morantes So. New Mexico
Nahum Mendoza III Jr. San Diego State
Ricardo Michelini Sr. San Diego State
Ryann Ree Sr. San Diego State
Shintaro Ban So. UNLV
Harry Hall Fr. UNLV
John Oda So. UNLV
Zane Thomas Sr. UNLV

2015-16 Individual Honors
Name Cl. Institution
Player of the Year:
Nahum Mendoza III
Jr. San Diego State
Freshman of the Year:
Harry Hall
Coach of the Year:
Joe Jensen