Mountain West Announces Men's Tennis All-Conference Awards

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West announced its 2014-15 All-Conference team and individual awards for men's tennis this evening, as selected by the league's eight head coaches.

Nevada senior Moez Chargui and San Diego State junior Freddy Gelbrich were named Co-Players of the Year. Chargui is the second straight Wolf Pack student-athlete to garner the Conference’s Player of the Year honor, as Victor Ouvrard took home the award last year. The senior was 17-13 during the regular-season, playing primarily at the No. 1 singles position. Gelbrich is the first San Diego State player to earn Player of the Year accolades since Javier Pulgar in 2012. His record on the year is 14-9 and includes victories over three nationally-ranked opponents. Gelbrich, who moved up to the No. 1 singles position this season, was honored as the MW Men’s Tennis Player of the Week three times in 2014-15 (February 18, March 18 and April 8).

New Mexico’s Bart Van Leijsen earned MW Freshman of the Year honors. It is the second consecutive year a member of the Lobos’ squad has earned the Conference’s Freshman of the Year award, as Hayden Sabatka claimed the accolade in 2013-14. Van Leijsen currently boasts a 17-10 record this season, including five straight victories to close out the regular-season.

Sam Iftikhar of New Mexico and Ace Matias of UNLV were both named to the All-MW team for the third consecutive year. At least one player from all eight institutions is represented on the team.

2014-15 Men’s Tennis All-Mountain West Team


Grant Taylor, Sr., Air Force

Garrett Patton, Sr., Boise State

Euan McIntosh, So., Fresno State

*Moez Chargui, Sr., Nevada

*Hayden Sabatka, So., New Mexico

**Sam Iftikhar, Sr., New Mexico

Freddy Gelbrich, Jr., San Diego State

Hendrik Jebens, So., San Diego State

**Ace Matias, Sr., UNLV

*Denys Pume, So., UNLV

Karan Salwan, So., Utah State

Dennis Baumgartner, So., Utah State



+Grant Taylor/Lucas Gumagalli, Air Force

^Thomas Tenreiro/Lewis Roskilly, Boise State

Adam Glynn/Euan McIntosh, Fresno State

Hayden Sabatka/Bart Van Leijsen, New Mexico

Freddy Gelbrich/Hendrik Jebens, San Diego State

#Ace Matias/Adam Gage-Brown, UNLV


Co-Players of the Year: Moez Chargui, Sr., Nevada; Freddy Gelbrich, Jr., San Diego State

Freshman of the Year: Bart Van Leijsen, New Mexico


*notes two-time selection

**notes three-time selection

+Taylor previously won All-Conference honors in 2011-12 and 2012-13 with different partners.

^Tenreiro previously won All-Conference honors in 2013-14 with a different partner.

#Matias previously won All-Conference honors in 2012-13 and 2013-14 with different partners.