Mountain West Announces Women's Tennis All-Conference Team, Individual Awards

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West announced its 2015-16 All-Conference team and individual awards for women’s tennis this evening, as selected by the league’s 11 head coaches.

Fresno State sophomore Mayar Sherif Ahmed was named Mountain West Women’s Tennis Player of the Year. The native of Cairo, Egypt, who was the 2014-15 MW Freshman of the Year, is currently ranked No. 62 in the ITA rankings, and has won 27 singles matches on the year. Playing primarily in the No. 1 singles position, Ahmed was a perfect 4-0 record against Conference opponents. She teamed up with her sister Rana Sherif Ahmed in the No. 1 doubles spot and compiled a 22-9 record.

This is the second consecutive year that Fresno State has won player of the year honors. Last season, Sophie Watts earned the prestigious honor.

UNLV’s Aiwen Zhu claimed the Mountain West Freshman of the Year honor after netting a 22-9 singles record while playing at the No. 1 and 2 singles positions. Playing primarily on the No. 1 doubles team with Carol Yang, recorded a 16-5 record. Behind the strong play of Zhu, the Rebels broke a 24-year-old school record in the spring, winning 19 consecutive matches.

At least one player from nine of the 11 institutions is represented on the 2015-16 All-MW team, with Fresno State leading the way with thee individual honorees and two doubles teams.

2015-16 Women’s Tennis All-Mountain West Team

*Mayar Sherif Ahmed, So., Fresno State
Carol Yang, Jr., UNLV
*Sybille Gauvain, So., San José State
Hanna Kantenwein, Fr., Boise State
Aiwen Zhu, Fr., UNLV
**Sophie Watts, Sr., Fresno State
Claudia Herrero, So., Nevada
Andrea Leblanc, Jr., New Mexico
***Rana Sherif Ahmed, Sr., Fresno State
*Emily Olivier, Jr., New Mexico
*Magdalena Stencel, So., Wyoming
*Marie Klocker, Jr., San José State
Chole Forlini, Jr., Air Force
Nini Guensler, Jr., Utah State
Anna Bogoslavets, Fr., UNLV
Nastya Tokareva, Sr., Wyoming

*Mayar Sherif Ahmed/Rana Sherif Ahmed, Fresno State
Sybille Gauvain/Marie Klocker, San José State
*Sheila Morales/Blaga Delic, Nevada
Emily Olivier/Dominique Dulski, New Mexico
**Anneka Watts/Sophie Watts, Fresno State
Magdalena Stencel/Nastya Tokareva, Wyoming
Megan LaLone/Naomi de Hart, Boise State
Carol Yang/Aiwen Zhu, UNLV

*notes two-time selection
**notes three-time selection