Mountain West Announces Women's Tennis All-Conference Awards

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West announced its 2014-15 All-Conference team and individual awards for women's tennis this evening, as selected by the league's 11 head coaches.

Fresno State’s Sophie Watts was named Player of the Year. The junior, who is currently No. 82 in the ITA rankings, has won 21 consecutive dual matches and is 32-5 overall this season. Playing primarily in the No. 1 singles position, Watts was a perfect 6-0 against Conference opponents. Sophie teamed up with twin sister Anneka at doubles and they have claimed victories in 12 straight matches.

The Bulldogs also earned the Freshman of the Year honor, as Maiar Sherif Ahmed claimed the award. Ahmed has netted victories in each of her last six dual matches and has posted an overall record of 20-3, including an unblemished 6-0 mark against MW opposition. Paired with older sister Rana Sherif Ahmed in doubles, the duo suffered just two losses in their 24 matches, playing mostly at the No. 1 doubles position.

At least one player from all 11 institutions is represented on the 2014-15 All-Conference team, with defending tournament champion Fresno State leading the way with three honorees.

2014-15 Women’s Tennis All-Mountain West Team


Natasha Rizvi, Sr., Air Force

Teal Vosburgh, Jr., Boise State

*Natalie Heffron, Sr., Colorado State

*Sophie Watts, Jr., Fresno State

Maiar Sherif Ahmed, Fr., Fresno State

**Rana Sherif Ahmed, Jr., Fresno State

*Sheila Morales Hidalgo, Sr., Nevada

Natasha Smith, Sr., New Mexico

Emily Olivier, So., New Mexico

Tami Nguyen, Jr., San Diego State

Sybille Gauvain, Fr., San José State

*Marie Klocker, So., San José State

Paola Artiga, So., UNLV

*McKenzie Davis, Sr., Utah State

Magdalena Stencel, Fr., Wyoming

Dorottya Jonas, So., Wyoming


Natasha Rizvi/Tracy Landram, Air Force

Bobbi Oshiro/Sammie Watson, Boise State

#Maiar Sherif Ahmed/Rana Sherif Ahmed, Fresno State

Anneka Watts/Sophie Watts, Fresno State

^Sheila Morales Hidalgo/Blaga Delic, Nevada

Marie Klocker/Gaelle Rey, San José State

McKenzie Davis/Maggie O’Meara, Utah State

Alma Espinoza/Chrisa Gecheva, Wyoming



Player of the Year: Sophie Watts, Jr., Fresno State

Freshman of the Year: Maiar Sherif Ahmed, Fresno State



*notes two-time selection

**notes three-time selection

^ Morales-Hidalgo previously won All-Conference honors in 2013-14 with a different partner.

#Rana Sherif Ahmed previously won All-Conference honors in 2012-13 with a different partner.