Mountain West & Denver Awarded 2021 NCAA Men's Basketball West Regional

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee announced today that Denver will be the host city of the 2021 NCAA Division I Men’s West Regional. It marks the first time that the Pepsi Center will host a regional round and the sixth NCAA championship event hosted by the Mountain West in Denver. The dates for NCAA Regional are Thursday, March 25 and Saturday, March 27.


The NCAA also announced that Mountain West member Boise State University and San Diego State University will serve as one of the eight future host sites. Boise State will host the First and Second Rounds on March 18 and 20, 2021 at Taco Bell Arena. San Diego State will also host First and Second Rounds on March 18 and 20, 2022 at Viejas Arena. Both institutions were previously awarded First and Second Round host sites for the 2018 tournament.


The Mountain West, in conjunction with Denver Sports and the Pepsi Center, has hosted men’s First and Second Rounds in 2004, 2008, 2011 and 2016, as well as the 2012 Women’s Final Four. This will be the first Regional round hosted in Denver since 1996 when the games were played at McNichols Sports Arena.


The NCAA also awarded several future championship host sites to the University of New Mexico in indoor track & field (2020 championships), cross country (2020 regionals), men’s golf (2021 regionals) and women’s golf (2022 regionals).


About The Mountain West Conference:

From its inception in 1999, the Mountain West has been committed to excellence in intercollegiate athletics, while promoting the academic missions of its member institutions. Progressive in its approach, the Mountain West continues to cultivate opportunities for student-athletes to compete at the highest level, while fostering academic achievement and sportsmanship. Now in its 18th year, the MW has been assertive in its involvement with the NCAA governance structure and has taken a leadership role in the overall administration of intercollegiate athletics. The Mountain West membership is comprised of 11 all-sport members: the United States Air Force Academy, Boise State University, Colorado State University, Fresno State, University of Nevada, University of New Mexico, San Diego State University, San José State University, UNLV, Utah State University and University of Wyoming. In addition, the University of Hawai‘i and Colorado College participate in the Mountain West as single-sport members in football and women’s soccer, respectively.


About Kroenke Sports & Entertainment (KSE)

Denver-based Kroenke Sports & Entertainment is one of the world’s leading ownership, entertainment and management groups.  As owners and operators of Pepsi Center, Paramount Theatre, Dick’s Sporting Goods Park, the Denver Nuggets (NBA), Colorado Avalanche (NHL), Colorado Mammoth (NLL) and Colorado Rapids (MLS), KSE’s sports and entertainment assets are second to none. Additional properties under the KSE umbrella are television properties, including Altitude Sports & Entertainment, Outdoor Channel, Sportsman Channel, and World Fishing Network, plus Altitude Authentics, the company’s official retail provider, and Altitude Tickets, the official ticketing provider for KSE teams and venues.


Denver Sports

Denver Sports was founded in 2001 to help bring high-profile sporting events to Denver. The organization is best known for its involvement with the 2008 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four, the 2012 NCAA Women’s Final Four, the 2014 World Lacrosse Championships, along with the All-Star showcases for Major League Baseball, the NHL, MLS and the NBA.