Mountain West Names 2016 All-Conference Baseball Team


@MW_OlySports on Twitter Twitter
2016 Championship Central
Mountain West Tony Gwynn Player of the Year Trophy

ALBUQUERQUE, NM. – The Mountain West baseball coaches selected New Mexico third baseman Carl Stajduhar as the Tony Gwynn Player of the Year, while Air Force junior Griffin Jax and Fresno State junior Jimmy Lambert were named the MW Baseball Co-Pitchers of the Year as the 2016 All-Conference teams and individual award winners were announced today. A pair of third basemen share the league’s Freshman of the Year honors, Nic Ready of Air Force and UNLV’s Kyle Isbel. Fresno State skipper Mike Batesole earned his first MW Coach of the Year honor.

Stajduhar is the second MW player to receive the Tony Gwynn Trophy. In MW action this season, he led the league in batting average (.421), slugging percentage (.746), home runs (9) and RBIs (39). A sophomore, Stajduhar was second in hits (53), on-base percentage (.490) and tied for fourth in runs scored (28). Stajduhar is the sixth Lobo to earn the MW Player of the Year honor and was a Second Team selection in 2015. In the summer of 2014, the MW head coaches voted to name the Conference’s Player of the Year trophy in honor of the late San Diego State head coach, Tony Gwynn.

Jax becomes the first Air Force cadet-athlete to be named Player or Pitcher of the Year in the history of Mountain West baseball. In 10 Conference appearances, Jax earned a 2.21 ERA with a 6-1 record. He tied for second in the league with 55 strikeouts against 10 walks. Jax also threw three consecutive complete games to finish the regular season. In 69.1 innings pitched, Mountain West batters only hit .250 against the right-hander. He was a Second Team selection in 2015.

Lambert was 8-0 for the Bulldogs with an ERA of 2.65 in Conference play this year. The right-hander was tied for second in Conference-only game rankings with 55 strikeouts and was third in opposing batting average (.247), innings pitched (68.0). Lambert is the first Fresno State pitcher to earn the accolade.

In 30 Conference games, Ready hit .336 while playing third base for the Falcons. He had 41 hits, 21 runs scored, 23 runs batted in, eight doubles, one triple and three home runs. Ready is the first Air Force rookie to receive this honor.

Isbel, also a third baseman for the Rebels, hit .338 in Conference play. He posted 44 hits, 20 runs scored and 14 RBI with six doubles, a league-leading five triples and one home run. Isbel is just the second UNLV freshman to earn the award (Joe Wickman, 2002).

Batesole led the Bulldogs to their first Mountain West regular season title since joining the league in 2013. Fresno State compiled a 21-9 Conference record en route to earning the No. 1 seed for the 2016 Mountain West Baseball Championship, May 25-29, at Santa Ana Star Field in Albuquerque.

2016 All-Mountain West Baseball First Team
Name Cl. Pos. Institution
Bradley Haslam Jr. DH Air Force
Griffin Jax^ Jr. RHP Air Force
Tyler Jones Jr. OF Air Force
Aaron Arruda So. 1B Fresno State
Jimmy Lambert Jr. RHP Fresno State
Brody Russell Sr. OF Fresno State
Ricky Tyler Thomas So. LHP Fresno State
TJ Friedl So. OF Nevada
Chris DeVito Jr. C/DH New Mexico
Jared Holley Sr. 2B New Mexico
Carl Stajduhar^ So. 3B New Mexico
Tyler Stevens So. RHP New Mexico
D.J. Myers Jr. RHP UNLV
Payton Squier So. OF UNLV

2016 All-Mountain West Baseball Second Team
Name Cl. Pos. Institution
Nic Ready Fr. 3B Air Force
Tim Borst Sr. RHP Fresno State
Rickey Ramirez So. RHP Fresno State
Scott Silva Jr. 2B Fresno State
Jake Stone Jr. OF Fresno State
Miles Mastrobuoni Jr. 2B Nevada
Jordan Pearce So. 1B Nevada
Luis Gonzalez So. OF/LHP New Mexico
Dominic Purpura Jr. LHP San Diego State
Justin Wylie So. 2B San Diego State
Dillan Smith Sr. OF San José State
Kyle Isbel Fr. 3B UNLV
Ben Wright Sr. RHP UNLV

2016 Individual Honors
Name Cl. Pos. Institution
Tony Gwynn Player of the Year:
Carl Stajduhar
So. 3B New Mexico
Co-Pitcher of the Year:
Griffin Jax
Jr. RHP Air Force
Co-Pitcher of the Year:
Jimmy Lambert
Jr. RHP Fresno State
Co-Freshman of the Year:
Nic Ready
Fr. 3B Air Force
Co-Freshman of the Year:
Kyle Isbel
Coach of the Year:
Mike Batesole
Fresno State

^ 2015 All-MW First or Second Team selection