Mountain West Softball Weekly Release

Complete Release in PDF Format Adobe Acrobat | @MW_OlySports on Twitter Twitter

2016 Schedule | 2016 Standings | 2016 Stats

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Fresno State is set to make its second-consecutive appearance in the NCAA Division I Softball Championship this week in the Los Angeles Regional. The No. 20/18 Bulldogs (41-10-1) open against Cal State Fullerton (43-14) at UCLA’s Easton Stadium on Friday, May 20 at 3 p.m. PT. Joining Fresno State and the Titans in the regional, is host and No. 12 overall seed UCLA and Cal State Bakersfield. 

Fresno State is currently tied with the Bruins for the most all-time NCAA postseason appearances as both teams enter the 2016 Championship bracket for the 32nd time. In their 31 previous NCAA postseason appearances, the Bulldogs have advanced to the College World Series 12 times with one national title (1998) and four runner-up finishes. 

Cal State Fullerton defeated Fresno State, 5-0, on March 22 in Fullerton. After the defeat, the Bulldogs reeled off 23 consecutive wins. Fresno State leads the all-time series between the two squads, 41-32. The Bulldogs are 5-1 all-time versus CSU Bakersfield and 11-43 against UCLA. 

On Tuesday, the 2016 MW All-Conference teams and postseason awards were announced as selected by the league’s nine coaches. Fresno State junior outfielder Kierra Willis was named MW Player of the Year, while Bulldogs’ senior right-hander Jill Compton earned Pitcher of the Year honors for the second year in a row. Fresno State senior catcher Paige Gumz was the Defensive Player of the Year for the second-straight season. Fresno State head coach Trisha Ford was also named MW Coach of the Year for the second-consecutive year. Boise State infielder Rebekah Cervantes was named Freshman of the Year. 

The MW All-Conference teams are headlined by four-time first-team honoree Compton. The Fresno State right hander becomes the 10th player in league history to be named to the First Team four times and the first since UNLV’s Ashli Holland from 2008-11. Joining Compton as repeat first-team All-MW selections are Megan Sweet of Nevada, along with Jessie Hufstetler and Jessica Madrid of San José State.