Mountain West Women's Volleyball Weekly Release


Complete Release in PDF Format Adobe Acrobat | @MW_OlySports on Twitter Twitter
2014 Schedule | 2014 Standings | 2014 Stats | Record Book & Archives

The Mountain West Network will stream eight MW matches this week. All matches will be streamed live and are free to view on

Colorado State dropped one spot in the AVCA Top 25 Coaches’ Poll to No. 14. CSU plays No. 9 BYU on Friday in the opening match of the New Mexico State/UTEP Invitational.

Colorado State set a Mountain West record for single-match attendance on September 6 as 7,018 fans came out to Moby Arena to watch the Rams take on No. 4 Wisconsin. The old record of 6,750 was also set in Moby Arena during the 2011 season against nationally-ranked Nebraska.

Wyoming middle blocker Erin Kirby has been selected as a candidate for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate volleyball. Kirby is one of 30 student-athletes named to the list. Candidates must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. CLASS is the acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®.

Wyoming extended its win streak to 14 matches with a 7-0 start to the 2014 season. It is the longest win streak in program history, surpassing the previous mark of 13 set in 1989.

Utah State senior Kaitlyn VanHoff became the Aggies’ career block assists record holder with seven against UC Irvine on September 6. VanHoff has 423 career block assists. She also has 445 total blocks over her USU career, closing in on the record of 477 held by Denae Mohlman (1997-2000).

Air Force senior Hillary Keltner became just the second Falcon Division I player to record over 3,000 assists in a career with her 125-assist performance last week in the Air Force Invitational. Keltner currently has 3,053 career assists and is the sixth Academy player to accomplish the feat.

Several Mountain West teams won tournament titles during the first weekend of action, while numerous individuals were named to all-tournament teams:

Tournament Champions

Air Force - Air Force Invitational
UNLV - Seton Hall Invitational
Utah State - UC Irvine Invitational
Wyoming - UniWyo Cowgirl Classic

All-Tournament honorees

Hawaiian Airlines Wahine Classic - Chantale Riddle, New Mexico
Sacramento State Invitational - Zana Bowens, Fresno State; Carly Scarbrough, Fresno State
Sears Sugar Bear Classic - Sierra Nobley, Boise State; Kaitlyn Oliver, Boise State
Seton Hall Invitational - Bree Hammel, UNLV; Ceannia Kincade, UNLV; Alyssa Wing, UNLV
UC Irvine Invitational - Rachel Orr (MVP), Utah State; Kaitlyn VanHoff, Utah State
UniWyo Cowgirl Classic - Bridget Shanahan (MVP), Wyoming; Laura Beach, Wyoming; Erin Kirby, Wyoming