MW to Send Three Teams, Two Individuals to NCAA Men's Golf Regionals

Follow @MW_OlySports on Twitter Twitter

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West will be represented by three teams and two individuals in the 2014 NCAA Men's Golf Regionals, as announced Monday by the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee. The MW has sent at least three teams to the NCAA Men's Golf Regionals in each of its 15 years.

New Mexico earned the Mountain West's automatic berth after capturing its second straight Conference title and sixth overall April 25-27 on the Catalina Course at OMNI Tucson National in Tucson, Arizona. The Lobos will be joined in postseason play by San Diego State and UNLV.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 15-17. Thirteen teams and 10 individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals, while the other three regional sites will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual from each regional will advance to the national championship finals, which will be held May 23-28 at the Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kansas. Wichita State will serve as host for this year's national championship.

New Mexico will participate in the NCAA Regionals for the third straight season and for the 24th time overall since the current NCAA format was put into place in 1989. This is also the 11th time in 13 years under head coach Glen Millican that the Lobos have been selected to the postseason. UNM is seeded fifth in the Auburn Regional, hosted by Auburn at the Auburn University Club in Auburn, Alabama. The Lobos, who are 22nd in the current GolfWeek/Sagarin rankings, are seeking their second straight trip to the national championship tournament, after advancing to match play in 2013. New Mexico is led by 2014 MW Golfer of the Year Gavin Green, who has recorded seven top-10 finishes this season and has won three individual tournament titles, including medalist honors at the Conference championship.

San Diego State, which is currently ranked 34th, enters the Columbia Regional as the No. 7 seed. Hosted by Missouri, the regional will be played at The Club at Old Hawthorne in Columbia, Missouri. This marks the Aztecs' 16th consecutive bid to the NCAA Regionals, including every season under the direction of 11th-year head coach Ryan Donovan. SDSU looks to return to the NCAA Championship for the third time in four years, after qualifying for match play in the 2012 tournament. The Aztecs are led by 2014 MW Freshman of the Year Ricky DeSantis, who has recorded two top-10 and six top-20 finishes this season.

No. 28 UNLV will make its 26th straight NCAA Regional appearance and will participate as a No. 5 seed in the Sugar Grove Regional, hosted by Northern Illinois at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Illinois. The Rebels are also looking to advance to the championship finals for the second straight year after joining New Mexico in the match play portion of the 2013 event. UNLV is led by junior All-Conference selections Carl Jonson and Kurt Kitayama, who each participated in the NCAA tournament last year.

Two additional 2014 All-Conference selections, including Air Force senior Kyle Westmoreland and San José State sophomore Cody Blick, will both make their second straight postseason appearances as individuals. The duo will travel to the Eugene Regional, hosted by Oregon at the Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Oregon. Westmoreland posted five top-five and six top-10 finishes in 2013-14, while Blick placed in the top-10 in six tournaments, including four top-four finishes and the first two individual victories of his career.