New Mexico Captures 2014 MW Women's Golf Championship

Follow @MW_OlySports on Twitter Twitter | 2014 MW Women's Golf Championship Central

RANCHO MIRAGE, Calif. – New Mexico secured its first Mountain West Women's Golf Championship since 2010 on the Dinah Shore Tournament Course at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, Calif. The Lobos posted a 54-hole total of 38-over-par 902 (295-295-312). This marks UNM's eighth overall Conference crown since the league's inception in 1999.

San José State fired a third-round score of 21-over 309 to capture second place in its first-ever MW tournament. The Spartans carded a 54-hole total of 39-over 903 (294-300-309) on the par 72, 6,324-yard course. Fresno State (296-296-317), San Diego State (293-308-308) and UNLV (303-290-316) tied for third overall with identical scores of 45-over 909, followed by Boise State in sixth at 56-over 920 (296-305-319). Nevada finished the tournament in seventh place with a score of 64-over 928 (308-310-310), while Colorado State and Wyoming rounded out the field with respective scores of 65-over 929 (311-305-313) and 89-over 953 (310-317-326).

Three strokes separated the top five individuals, led by Fresno State freshman Gurdrun Bjorgvinsdottir, who earned her first individual MW championship and first collegiate tournament victory at 2-over 218 (71-71-76). San Diego State sophomore Emma Henrikson (71-73-75) and UNLV junior Dana Finkelstein (73-69-77) each were one stroke back, posting identical scores of 3-over 219. San José State sophomore Regan De Guzman finished in fourth place at 4-over 220 (73-72-75), followed by New Mexico freshman Manon Mollé in fifth at 5-over 221 (71-71-79).

Bjorgvinsdottir and Nevada junior Nikki Prichard led all participants with 10 birdies throughout the tournament, while Finkelstein recorded the tournament's low-round of 3-under 69 on Friday. DeGuzman and 2013 MW individual champion Manon DeRoey each carded the only two eagles of the three-day event, both of which came in the first round of action.

Complete results and hole-by-hole scoring is available at and