Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Student-Athletes Of The Year Announced

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – New Mexico senior Luke Caldwell and Utah State junior Chari Hawkins have been selected as the 2013-14 Mountain West Men's and Women's Indoor Track & Field Student-Athletes of the Year, respectively.

Caldwell, from Betchworth, England, doubled up at the 2014 MW Indoor Championships, winning the 3000 and 5000 Meters for the second straight season. Caldwell’s efforts helped guide the Lobos to their second consecutive MW team championship. Earlier in the season, Caldwell narrowly missed out on eclipsing his own MW all-time record in the 5000 Meters, as he posted a time of 13:42.50 at the Husky Classic in Seattle, Wash., just two seconds off his record-setting time of 13:40.49 set at the same meet in 2013. Caldwell’s 2014 mark was the fifth-best in the nation, securing him a spot in the New Mexico-hosted 2014 NCAA Division I Indoor Track & Field Championships. Caldwell shattered his personal and MW all-time record in the 5000 Meters on the Albuquerque Convention Center track with a time of 13:34.54, which secured him a sixth-place finish and first-team All-America status.

Hawkins, from Rexburg, Idaho, was named the Women’s Outstanding Performer of the Meet at the 2014 MW Indoor Track & Field Championships. The junior knocked off three-time defending champion, San Diego State senior Allison Reaser, in the Pentathlon, and finished second in both the 60 Hurdles and High Jump. The 4,173 points scored by Hawkins in the Pentathlon set a new MW Indoor Track & Field Championships record by a single point, and edged Reaser by 28 points. Hawkins competed in the Pentathlon at the 2014 NCAA Division I Indoor Track & Field Championships in Albuquerque, N.M. and placed 14th with a total of 4,025 points. She garnered second-team All-America honors with the finish.

The Student-Athlete of the Year award recognizes the outstanding male and female athletes in the sport of indoor track and field. Student-athletes are nominated and selected by the head coaches at each member institution.