Colorado State Men And New Mexico Women Lead After Day Two At The 2014 Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Championships

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Colorado State men and New Mexico women lead the 2014 Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Championships after day two of competition Cadet Field House, located on the grounds of the United States Air Force Academy.

The Rams hold a slight three-point edge over New Mexico, 69.50 points to 66.50 points, entering the final day of events. Air Force (40.50), Wyoming (31), Boise State (14) and Utah State (9.50) round out the men’s team scores.

On the women’s side, New Mexico is up 28 points on second-place San Diego State, 61 points to 33 points. Wyoming is third with 30 points, followed by Fresno State in fourth-place (22.50) and Colorado State and Boise State in a fifth-place tie at 20 points apiece. Utah State (18), Nevada (16), Air Force (8.50) and UNLV conclude the women’s team scores.

The 2014 Mountain West Indoor Track and Field Championships wrap up tomorrow, with action set to begin at 10 a.m. MT / 9 a.m. PT with the men’s Shot Put.

Men’s Team Scores
1. Colorado State – 69.50; 2. New Mexico – 66.50; 3. Air Force 40.50; 4. Wyoming – 31; 5. Boise State – 14; 6. Utah State – 9.50

Women’s Team Scores
1. New Mexico – 61; 2. San Diego State – 33; 3. Wyoming – 30; 4. Fresno State – 22.50; 5. Colorado State – 20; 5T. Boise State – 20; 7. Utah State – 18; 8. Nevada – 16; 9. Air Force – 8.50; 10. UNLV – 3; 11. San Jose State - 2

2014 MW Indoor Track and Field Championships Notes

- Colorado State junior Justin Green used a strong pole vault performance (16’-4.75”) to win the Heptathlon with 5,575 points – the third-highest total in a MW Championship meet and the fourth-best total in Conference history. Green paced the Rams to the top-two finishes in that event, as sophomore Josh Cogdill finished second with 5,349 points.

- New Mexico senior Kendall Spencer won his third Conference title in the Long Jump, as he recorded a MW Championship meet record of 25’-9.25”. The mark is also second on the Conference’s all-time list, trailing only the distance of 26’-3.50” that he set during his NCAA-winning performance in 2012.

- New Mexico senior Margo Tucker cleared 13’-2.25” to claim the title in the Pole Vault. She was one of four vaulters to clear that height (New Mexico sophomore Annie Stirling, San Diego State senior Holly Waseloff, Boise State freshman Allison Jefferies) with ties broken based on attempts.

- Colorado State junior Kiah Hicks recorded the third-longest Weight Throw distance in Mountain West history (70’-3.50”) to win her first MW title. That mark is also ranked fourth on the Conference’s all-time list. Colorado State senior Alec Pott won the men’s Weight Throw with a mark of 67’-10.25”, pacing the Rams to a sweep of the top-three spots with classmate Ken Harriman (second, 64-7.25”) and junior Jake Schneeberger (third, 64-6.50”). It was Pott’s second straight victory in the event.

- New Mexico junior Django Lovett cleared a MW Championship record of 7’-2.50” to win his second straight league title in the High Jump. Lovett’s clearance ties the conference’s all-time record that BYU’s David Pendergrass set in 2006.

- The Lobos' Aasha Marler, a junior, won the Long Jump with a distance of 20'-5.00'', with Fresno State junior Je'Nia Sears taking second at 19'-11.00''.

- Wyoming junior Holly Page went from fifth to first to edge sophomore teammate Audra DeStefano (18:19.06-18:19.26) to win the women’s 5000 Meters and become the Cowgirls’ first-ever Conference champion at that distance. On the men’s side, New Mexico swept the top-three finishes, with senior Luke Caldwell claiming his second title (15:20.09), followed by Adam Bitchell (15:21.67) and Patrick Zacharias (15:25.22).

- Backed by a strong anchor from senior Samantha Diaz, the Nevada women’s Distance Medley Relay (including junior Caitlin Devitt-Payne, freshman Summer Leimberger and senior Mariah Gramolini) edged Wyoming on the final 30 meters for their first MW title (11:59.97). The Colorado State team of junior Andrew Goodman, junior Zach Browning, senior Alex Balsiger and freshman Jefferson Abbey pulled away on the final leg to win the men’s Distance Medley Relay in 10:15.46.

- In the preliminary round of the 60 Hurdles, San Diego State junior Kristen Brown recorded the second-fastest time in MW Championship history (8.28) to clock the fastest qualifying time. Brown, the 2013 champion, also moved into fourth on the league’s all-time list.

- Three-time Conference champion, Trevor Brown of Colorado State, posted the fastest qualifying time in the 60 Hurdles (7.82), which is the second-fastest time in MW Championship Meet history and the third-fastest time in conference history.

- In his Conference debut, Utah State junior Nick Bowers clocked a qualifying time of 6.67 in the 60 Meters to clock the second-fastest MW Championship-meet time and tied for the fifth-fastest time on the all-time list.