Mountain West Announces 2013-14 Men's Tennis All-Conference Awards

MW Men's Tennis All-Conference Team and Individual Awards Announcement | Follow @MW_OlySports on Twitter Twitter

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West announced its 2013-14 All-Conference team and individual awards for men's tennis this evening, as selected by the league's eight head coaches.

Nevada senior Victor Ouvrard was named MW Player of the Year, thanks to his solid play at the No. 1 and 2 singles positions. Hailing from Tours, France, Ouvrard was 23-5 during the regular season, including a perfect 6-0 mark in MW matches. He has won seven straight contests entering the 2014 MW Men’s Tennis Championship.

New Mexico’s Hayden Sabatka earned MW Freshman of the Year honors. The Denver, Colo., native posted a 23-11 overall record while playing out of the No. 1-3 singles positions. He was 5-1 in Conference matches this season.

Name Institution Class
**Andy Bettles Boise State Sr.
*Nathan Sereke Boise State Sr.
Sai Kartik Fresno State Jr.
*Victor Ouvrard Nevada Sr.
Moez Chargui Nevada Jr.
*Sam Iftikhar New Mexico Jr.
Hayden Sabatka New Mexico Fr.
**Thorsten Bertsch San Diego State Jr.
Hunter Nicholas San Diego State Sr.
Ace Matias UNLV Jr.
Denys Plume UNLV Jr.
Tamas Batyi UNLV Sr.
^Andy Bettles/Thomas Tenreiro Boise State
Brendan McClain/Garrett Patton Boise State
Victor Ouvrard/Robert Allan Nevada
Sam Iftikar/James Hignett New Mexico
#Thorsten Bertsch/Hunter Nicholas San Diego State
^Ace Matias/Denys Plume UNLV

Player of the Year: Victor Ouvrard, Sr., Nevada

Freshman of the Year: Hayden Sabatka, New Mexico

* = two-time honoree ** = three-time honoree # = Bertsch previously won All-Conference honors in 2011-12 with a different partner.
^ = Bettles and Matias previously won All-Conference honors in 2012-13 with different partners.