San Diego State, New Mexico Capture Team Titles At 2014 MW Outdoor Track & Field Championships

LARAMIE, Wyo. – On the strength of a combined eight individual titles during the day, the San Diego State women and New Mexico men claimed the team titles at the 2014 Mountain West Outdoor Track & Field Championships on Saturday at the Louis S. Madrid Sports Complex in Laramie, Wyoming. The Aztecs won three events during the day to tally 144 points and outpace New Mexico at 124 and Colorado State with 94.5, while the Lobo men racked up victories in five events for 185 points to Colorado State’s 156 and Utah State’s 127.

San Diego State head coach Shelia Burrell was named Women’s Coach of the Year by guiding her No. 18 Aztecs to a second straight outdoor team title, while SDSU sophomore Nicole Oudenaarden was the Women’s Outstanding Performer of the Meet. New Mexico head coach Joe Franklin received Men’s Coach of the Year, as the No. 23 Lobos earned their first outdoor team title in MW history, while Utah State junior Nic Bowens claimed Men’s Outstanding Performer of the Meet.

Senior Shanieka Thomas was San Diego State’s top performer of the day, as she took the title in the Triple Jump for a third straight year. Her leap of 44’-9.50” set a facility record, while ranking second in MW Championship history and fifth in Conference history. The Aztecs also got wins from seniors Kristen Brown in the 100 Hurdles (13.37 seconds) and Meritzer Williams in the 200 Meters (23.62).

Senior Luke Caldwell continued his storied Lobo career with a second straight victory in the 5000 Meters. His time of 14:42.75 set a facility record, a feat he also accomplished in the 10,000 Meters on Friday. New Mexico also got distance wins in the 800 and 1500 Meters, as senior Gabe Aragon and junior Peter Callahan crossed the line first in 1:51.20 and 3:58.81, respectively. Junior Reneilwe Aphane’s Triple Jump of 51’-11.00’’ gave him the victory and a facility record as well.

In the women’s field, Wyoming finished fourth with 94 points, just half a point behind third, while Boise State was fifth at 90.5 and Utah State totaled 78 points for sixth. UNLV (59), Fresno State (56), Nevada (47), Air Force (31) and San José State (0) rounded out the field.

On the men’s side, reigning champion Air Force finished fourth with 126 points, while Wyoming was fifth at 110 points. Boise State (67) was sixth and Fresno State (45) finished seventh.

2014 Mountain West Outdoor Track & Field Championships Notes

-Wyoming won the women’s 4x100 Relay in 45.04. It’s the first time in MW Championship history that Wyoming has won the event.

-Utah State won the men’s 4x100 Relay in 39.44. That time is third-fastest in MW Championship history and third all-time in conference history. The mark was also .02 away from the facility record.

-Emma Bates of Boise State won the women’s 1500 Meters with a time of 4:40.06. Peter Callahan of New Mexico won the men’s 1500 Meters with a time of 3:58.81. Bates also won the 5000 Meters for the second time in her career with a time of 17:37.68. The junior also took home top honors in the 5000 Meters in 2012. 

-Senior Kristen Brown of San Diego State won the women’s 100-Meter Hurdles in 13.37, a new stadium record. The old record was 13.38, set in 2009. Brown finished second in the event last year.

-Colorado State’s Trevor Brown won the men’s 110 Hurdles in a time of 13.69, just short of his own facility record of 13.64 set in Friday’s preliminary round. This is the third consecutive year Brown has won the event after finishing second as a freshman in 2011.

-Fresno State sophomore Dezirae Johnson won the women’s 400 Meters in 54.37. The men’s 400 Meters was won by sophomore Cole Lambourne of Utah State with a time of 46.71.  

-Wyoming’s Mason Finley won the Shot Put title with a throw of 60’-11.25”. That is a new facility record, breaking the mark of 57’-11.5” set by Dave Adamek of Eastern Michigan in 2007. Finley’s toss is the fifth-best in Championship history. Finley also won the Shot Put in the MW indoor championships earlier this year.  It’s the first time in the history of the event Wyoming has won outdoors.   

-With a new school record of 11.50, Kereston Thomas of Wyoming won the women’s 100 Meters. She also placed second in the 200 with a time of 23.83. 

-Nick Bowens, a junior from Utah State, won the men’s 100 Meters with a time of 10.18, second in MW Championship history behind his own 10.13 mark in yesterday’s preliminaries. It is also the fourth-best time in MW history. He also won the 200 Meters in 20.72.

-Auzsane Crowe-Carter, a sophomore from UNLV, won the women’s 800 Meters with a time of 2:08.76, a new facility record breaking the old mark of 2:10.22 set in 2009.

-Gabe Aragon of New Mexico won the men’s 800 Meters with a time of 1:51.20. He finished fifth in the event at last year’s championship.

-Utah State’s Kaylee Hartshorn was the victor in the women’s Javelin with a throw of 156-7.

-With a time of 58.31, Wyoming’s Taylor Gardner took the title in the 400 Hurdles. Gardner finished fourth last year, fifth in 2012 and third in 2010. She is the second Cowgirl in the last four years to win the 400 Hurdles. Erin Kirby won the event in 2011.

-Reneilwe Aphane of New Mexico set a new stadium record with a score of 51’-11.00’’ in the men’s Triple Jump, surpassing Wyoming’s Blake Jackson’s 51’-0.00’’ in 2007. Aphane also set the fifth-best mark in Championship history.

-Rachel Herald of Air Force won the women’s High Jump competition with a mark of 5’-9.25’’. She finished sixth in the event last year and seventh in 2012. 

-Fernando Martinez of Boise State won the men’s 400 Hurdles with a time of 50.83.

-Meritzer Williams of San Diego State won the women’s 200 Meters with a time of 23.62. 

-In the men’s Pole Vault, Joey Uhle of Air Force took first place with a score of 17’-1.00’’. He finished third in 2013 and seventh in 2012.

-Aaliyah Pete, a freshman from Colorado State, won the women’s Shot Put with a toss of 52’-8.75’’. 

-With a time of 14:42.75, Luke Caldwell of New Mexico won the men’s 5000 Meters, breaking the stadium record of 14:47.87 set by Jacob Kirwa of New Mexico in 2009. Caldwell also won the event last year.  

-Shanieka Thomas of San Diego State won the women’s Triple Jump with a distance of 44’-9.50’’, breaking the stadium record of 43’-4.25’’ set by Karoline Koehler of SDSU in 2009. Thomas won the event the last two years as well and finished second as a freshman in 2011. 

-Richard York of New Mexico won the men’s Javelin with a toss of 213’-5.00’’. 

-Fresno State won the women’s 4x400 Relay with a time of 3:38.45, while Utah State took the top spot in the men’s 4x400 Relay with a time of 3:09.84. That is the fourth-best mark in MW Championship history.