Mountain West To Be Represented In 2014 NFL Playoffs

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West will be represented in the NFL Playoffs by 32 players across 11 of the 12 member institutions. Overall, the MW is represented on all 12 NFL teams that qualified for the postseason. In addition to the 32 active players, 12 others are on either the reserve/injured lists or the practice squad.

The AFC’s top-seeded Denver Broncos are home to the most players from current Mountain West institutions with seven, followed by the San Diego Chargers with five and the New England Patriots with four.

Three NFL head coaches, Denver’s John Fox, Indianapolis’s Chuck Pagano and Cincinnati’s Marvin Lewis have previously spent time on varying MW campuses, as have assistant coaches Dom Capers (Green Bay, defensive coordinator), Richard Rodgers (Carolina Panthers, special teams coordinator), Dave Fipp (Philadelphia Eagles, special teams coordinator) and Don Johnson (San Diego Chargers, defensive line).

The 2014 NFL Playoffs begin Saturday, Jan. 4 at 4:35 p.m. ET with an AFC Wildcard matchup, featuring No. 5 Kansas City (11-5) playing at No. 4 Indianapolis (11-5). A full schedule is below:

Mountain West In The 2014 NFL Playoffs: Players
Denver Broncos
Player MW Institution Position
Aaron Brewer San Diego State S
Joel Dreessen Colorado State TE
Virgil Green Nevada TE
Ronnie Hillman San Diego State RB
Duke Ihenacho San José State S
Brandon Marshall Nevada LB
Mitch Unrein Wyoming DT
New England Patriots
Player MW Institution Position
Chris Barker Nevada OL
Logan Mankins Fresno State G
Isaac Sopoaga Hawai'i DT
Ryan Wendell Fresno State OL
Cincinnati Bengals
Player MW Institution Position
George Iloka Boise State S
Indianapolis Colts
Player MW Institution Position
Samson Satele Hawai'i C
Kansas City Chiefs
Player MW Institution Position
James-Michael Johnson Nevada LB
San Diego Chargers
Player MW Institution Position
Seyi Ajirotutu Fresno State WR
Vincent Brown San Diego State WR
Richard Marshall Fresno State CB
Ryan Mathews Fresno State RB
Kenny Wiggins Fresno State T
Seattle Seahawks
Player MW Institution Position
Heath Farwell San Diego State LB
Robert Turbin Utah State RB
Bobby Wagner Utah State LB
Carolina Panthers
Player MW Institution Position
Byron Bell New Mexico T
Richie Brockel Boise State TE
Quintin Mikell Boise State S
Philadelphia Eagles
Player MW Institution Position
Curtis Marsh Utah State CB
Green Bay Packers
Player MW Institution Position
Jarrett Bush Utah State CB
James Jones San José State WR
San Francisco 49ers
Player MW Institution Position
Colin Kaepernick Nevada QB
Kassim Osgood San Diego State WR
Eric Wright UNLV CB
New Orleans Saints
Player MW Institution Position
Bryce Harris Fresno State T


Mountain West In The 2014 NFL Playoffs: Coaches
Coach MW Institution NFL Position
John Fox San Diego State (player, assistant); Boise State (assistant) Head Coach, Denver Broncos
Marvin Lewis New Mexico (assistant) Head Coach, Cincinnati Bengals
Chuck Pagano Wyoming (player); UNLV (def. assistant, def. coordinator) Head Coach, Indianapolis Colts

Dom Capers

Hawai'i (defensive backs); San José State (defensive backs) Defensive Coordinator, Green Bay Packers
Richard Rodgers San José State (assistant) Special Teams Coordinator, Carolina Panthers
Don Johnson Nevada (defensive line) Defensive Line, San Diego Chargers
Dave Fipp Nevada (co-def. coordinator/secondary); San José State (co-def. coordinator/safties, def. coordinator) Special Teams Coordinator, Philadelphia Eagles