San Diego State Picked To Win Third Consecutive MW Softball Championship

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Two-time defending Mountain West softball champion San Diego State has been picked to win the 2014 title by the Conference’s nine head coaches. The Aztecs collected seven first-place votes and 63 total points. Fresno State was second with 56 points and two first-place votes.

Boise State is third with 42 points, followed by Colorado State and MW newcomer, San José State, tied for fourth-place with 38 points apiece. Nevada is in sixth-place with 36 points, with UNLV (27), New Mexico (13) and MW newcomer, Utah State (11), rounding out the standings.

San Diego State returns seven starters and 12 letterwinners from the 2013 club that went 13-5 in MW play and 36-20 overall. Junior utility player, Hayley Miles, who already owns 11 Aztec school records, was named to the 2014 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Watch List. She is the only player from the MW on the list. In 2012, Miles hit for a .429 average with 20 home runs and 49 RBIs.

Fresno State also brings back seven starters from its 2013 squad that finished tied for second in Conference play with an 11-7 mark. The Bulldogs (30-24 overall) have 17 letterwinners back, including sophomore pitcher, Jill Compton. Boise State has nine starters and 14 letterwinners returning to the lineup. The Broncos finished tied for fourth in MW play in 2013 with a 9-9 record, 25-26-1 overall.

The 2014 softball season gets underway Feb. 6 with tournaments in Tempe, Ariz., and St. George, Utah.

Pl. Team (1st place votes) Points
1. San Diego State (7) 63
2. Fresno State (2) 56
3. Boise State 42
4. Colorado State 38
4. San José State 38
6. Nevada 36
7. UNLV 27
8. New Mexico 13
9. Utah State 11