Mountain West Announces Men's And Women's Tennis Coaches Of The Year

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West announced its 2013-14 Men’s and Women’s Tennis Coach of the Year award winners today as voted on by the league’s head coaches. The MW Men’s Coach of the Year goes to New Mexico’s Alan Dils, while Fresno State’s Ryan Stotland was selected the MW Women’s Coach of the Year.

Dils, in his 18th year as the Lobos’ head coach, guided New Mexico to the finals of the 2014 Mountain West Men’s Tennis Championship for the third straight year against Boise State. The Lobos fell to the No. 25 Broncos 4-0 in the championship match and finished the year with a 20-8 record, 4-2 in Conference play. This is the fifth time Dils has received the MW Coach of the Year award, the most in Conference history.

Stotland, in just his second season at the helm of the Fresno State women’s tennis program, earned his first MW Women’s Coach of the Year accolade. He led the Bulldogs to 12 straight regular-season victories and a 16-8 overall record in 2014, including a perfect 5-0 mark in league play. Fresno State won the 2014 MW Women’s Tennis Championship 4-2 over New Mexico to receive the Conference’s automatic bid into the 2014 NCAA Women’s Tennis Championship. The Bulldogs will play Michigan in the opening round at 11 a.m. PT on May 9 in Los Angeles, Calif.