Seeding Set for 2013 Mountain West Women's Soccer Championship

Bracket (PDF) Adobe Acrobat | Follow @MW_OlySports on Twitter Twitter

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The field of eight is set for the 2013 Mountain West Women’s Soccer Championship, which gets underway Monday, Nov. 4 at the UNM Soccer Complex on the campus of the University of New Mexico.

The single-elimination tournament, which runs through Saturday, Nov. 9, will feature all seven matches live and for free on the Mountain West Network. Viewers can watch the tournament action at http://www.themw.com/#!watch-live.

San Diego State, the 2013 regular-season champion and 2012 regular-season and tournament champion, earned the No. 1 seed in this year’s tournament. The Aztecs finished regular-season Conference play with a 9-1 record (11-6-2 overall) to capture the top spot. Fresno State is the No. 2 seed, thanks to a 7-2-1 record in league matches. The Bulldogs (10-7-2 overall) opened MW play 0-2, but won seven of their last eight matches to finish behind the Aztecs. Both San Diego State and Fresno State receive byes into Thursday’s semifinal round.

Boise State will be the No. 3 seed in the tournament, while host New Mexico draws the No. 4 seed. Both the Broncos (6-3-1 MW, 11-6-3 overall) and Lobos (6-3-1 MW, 8-10-2 overall) earned first-round byes and will open postseason play on Tuesday.

In Monday’s first round, No. 6 seed UNLV (5-5-0 MW, 10-8-2 overall) plays No. 7 seed Wyoming (4-4-2 MW, 7-10-3 overall) at 4 p.m. MT/3 p.m. PT, while in the second opening-round match, No. 5 seed Utah State (5-3-2 MW, 9-6-4 overall) takes on No. 8 seed Nevada (3-6-1 MW, 5-10-4 overall) at 7 p.m. MT/6 p.m. PT. The UNLV-Wyoming winner will play Boise State in the next round, while either Utah State or Nevada takes on New Mexico.

The 2013 MW Women’s Soccer Tournament concludes on Saturday, Nov. 9 with the championship match, scheduled for a 1 p.m. MT/Noon PT start time.

2013 Mountain West Women’s Soccer Championship

Monday, November 4 - First Round
No. 6 UNLV vs. No. 7 Wyoming, 4 p.m. MT/3 p.m. PT
No. 5 Utah State vs. No. 8 Nevada, 7 p.m. MT/6 p.m. PT

Tuesday, November 5 - Second Round
No. 3 Boise State vs. UNLV/Wyoming winner, 4 p.m. MT/3 p.m. PT
No. 4 New Mexico vs. Utah State/Nevada winner, 7 p.m. MT/6 p.m. PT

Thursday, November 7 - Semifinals
No. 2 Fresno State vs. Second Round Game #1 winner, 4 p.m. MT/3 p.m. PT
No. 1 San Diego State vs. Second Round Game #2 winner, 7 p.m. MT/6 p.m. PT

Saturday, November 9 - Championship
Semifinal Winner #1 vs. Semifinal Winner #2, 1 p.m. MT/Noon PT