Fresno State Wins The 2014 MW Women's Tennis Championship

FRESNO, Calif. – Fresno State defeated New Mexico 4-2 to claim the 2014 Mountain West Women’s Tennis Championship on Sunday, April 27 at the Sierra Sport & Racquet Club in Fresno, Calif.

It is the first MW championship in women’s tennis for the host and top-seeded Bulldogs. Fresno State last won a Conference title in women’s tennis in 2011.

Fresno State (16-8), which has now won its last 12 matches, secured the MW’s automatic bid into the 2014 NCAA Championships with the victory. The 2014 NCAA Championships selection show will be broadcast on the website on Tuesday, April 29 at 2:30 p.m. PT. New Mexico, the No. 2 seed in the tournament, finished the year with an 18-7 mark.

Rana Sherif Ahmed secured the championship-clinching point for Fresno State at No. 2 singles with a straight-set victory over Lizette Blankers 6-2, 7-5. The Bulldogs also received singles wins from Sophie Watts at No. 1 over Michaela Bezdickova 6-2, 6-1 and at No. 4 with Sofya Malysheva topping Natasha Smith 6-2, 6-2.

Fresno State opened the match by winning the doubles point. Sophie and Anneka Watts came through with the clinching point at No. 1 with an 8-3 win over Bezdickova and Blankers. Sherif Ahmed and Tanya Murtagh won the No. 3 match over Rachana Bhat and Susan Baklini 8-1.

New Mexico earned its two points at No. 5 and 6 singles. Dominique Dulski cruised to a straight-set win over Anneka Watts 6-1, 6-1 at No. 5, while Bhat took down Anne Susdorf 7-5, 6-0 at No. 6.