2013 All-Mountain West Cross Country Honors Announced

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West announced its 2013 men’s and women’s cross country All-Conference teams today. The top 14 finishers in each race at the MW Championships receive All-MW honors. The top seven earned first-team honors, while those placing eighth-14th garnered second-team accolades.

Air Force’s Isaiah Bragg and Boise State’s Emma Bates were named Mountain West Athletes of the Year. Bragg won the men’s 8K race with a time of 24:08.39, while Bates cruised to victory in the women’s 6K in 20:48.15. New Mexico’s Joe Franklin took home both the men’s and women’s MW Coach of the Year awards, as his Lobos swept the Mountain West Championships for the fifth straight year. The Lobo women have now won six straight Conference titles.

Wyoming’s Michael Kesy earned MW Men’s Freshman of the Year honors, while Colorado State’s Sanne Holland took home the women’s award.

New Mexico had three runners earn first-team honors. Luke Caldwell (24:12.40), Adam Bitchell (24:16.88) and Pat Zacharias (24:26.07) finished second through fourth, respectively. Wyoming’s Garrett Zans (24:27.20), Utah State’s Eric Shellhorn (24:29.97) and Colorado State’s Ben Larson (24:32.26) round out the first team after placing in the fifth through seventh positions.

The Lobos also placed three runners on the women’s first team as Samantha Silva finished second (21:12.10), Charlotte Arter placed fourth (21:30.95) and Nicole Roberts was seventh (21:52.07). Other first team honorees include, Boise State’s Marisa Howard (third place-21:18.58), Air Force’s Hannah Everson (fifth place-21:41.07) and Wyoming’s Holly Page (sixth place-21:49.41).

All-Mountain West Men’s Cross Country First Team
Isaiah Bragg, Sr., Air Force#
Ben Larson, Sr., Colorado State
Adam Bitchell, Sr., New Mexico^
Luke Caldwell, Sr., New Mexico^
Pat Zacharias, Jr., New Mexico^
Eric Shellhorn, Jr., Utah State
Garrett Zans, Sr., Wyoming

All-Mountain West Men’s Cross Country Second Team
Patrick Corona, So., Air Force
Aaron Back, Jr., Boise State
Jefferson Abbey, R-Fr., Colorado State
Andrew Goodman, Jr., Colorado State
Christian Meyer, Sr., Colorado State
Alex Muntefering, Sr., Colorado State^
Sean Stam, Sr., New Mexico#

Men’s Student-Athlete of the Year: Isaiah Bragg, Sr., Air Force
Men’s Coach of the Year: Joe Franklin, New Mexico
Men’s Freshman of the Year: Michael Kesy, Wyoming
All-Mountain West Women’s Cross Country First Team

Hannah Everson, So., Air Force
Emma Bates, Jr., Boise State^
Marisa Howard, Jr., Boise State#
Charlotte Arter, Sr., New Mexico^
Nicole Roberts, Jr., New Mexico
Samantha Silva, Jr., New Mexico
Holly Page, Jr., Wyoming^

All-Mountain West Women’s Cross Country Second Team
Annette Eichenberger, Sr., Air Force
Taryn Treadway, Sr., Boise State
Annemarie Schwanz, So., Fresno State
Tamara Armoush, Jr., New Mexico
Calli Thackery, So., New Mexico
Helene Tambet, So., New Mexico
Ashley Robison, Jr., Utah State

Women’s Student-Athlete of the Year: Emma Bates, Jr., Boise State
Women’s Coach of the Year: Joe Franklin, New Mexico
Women’s Freshman of the Year: Sanne Holland, Colorado State

# = three-time honoree
^ = two-time honoree