New Mexico Men And Women Hold Top Spots In Pre-Championship Coaches' Polls

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – In the Mountain West pre-championship coaches’ polls, the New Mexico men’s and women’s cross country teams earned the top spots. The Lobo women, ranked No. 9 in the latest USTFCCCA national poll, have won five consecutive MW Cross Country Championships, while the No. 9 men have won four straight.

The 2013 Mountain West Cross Country Championships will be hosted by the Air Force Academy at the Eisenhower Blue Course on Friday, Nov. 1. The men’s 8-kilometer race begins at 10 a.m. MT, while the women’s 6K is scheduled for a 10:45 a.m. MT start. For complete coverage of the 2013 MW Cross Country Championships, visit the championship central page on!/page/championship_c-xc.

In the men’s poll, New Mexico received five first-place votes and 47 total points, followed by No. 22 Colorado State with two first-place votes and 42 points. No. 20 Boise State is third with 36, followed by No. 28 Air Force in fourth with one first-place vote and 34 points. Wyoming (22 points), Utah State (21 points), Fresno State (14 points) and San José State (8 points) round out the results.

On the women’s side, New Mexico tallied nine first-place votes for a total of 99 points to earn the top spot. Boise State, ranked No. 25, garnered two first-place votes and 89 points to claim second place. Air Force was third with 81 points, followed by Colorado State with 62 points. Utah State placed fifth with 61 points. Wyoming (52 points) finished in sixth, followed by Nevada (50 points) in seventh. Fresno State (48 points), San Diego State (24 points), San José State (20 points) and UNLV (19 points) concluded the poll results.

Pl. Team (1st place votes) Points
1. New Mexico (5) 47
2. Colorado State (2) 42
3. Boise State 36
4. Air Force (1) 34
5. Wyoming 22
6. Utah State 21
7. Fresno State 14
8. San José State 8


Pl. Team (1st place votes) Points
1. New Mexico (9) 99
2. Boise State (2) 89
3. Air Force 81
4. Colorado State 62
5. Utah State 61
6. Wyoming 52
7. Nevada 50
8. Fresno State 48
9. San Diego State 24
10. San José State 20
11. UNLV 19