Mountain West Announces 2013-14 Women's Basketball All-Conference Team

Follow @MW_WHoops on Twitter Twitter | Championship Central | MWN Video Release

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The 11 MW women's basketball coaches chose Utah State senior Jennifer Schlott as the Mountain West Women's Basketball Player of the Year for 2013-14 as the All-Conference team and individual award winners were announced today. Colorado State head coach Ryun Williams earned his first MW Coach of the Year honor after guiding the Rams to their second MW regular-season title. Fresno State senior Taylor Thompson and Nevada junior Mimi Mungedi were awarded Co-Defensive Player of the Year honors, while Colorado State sophomore Caitlin Duffy was chosen as the Sixth Player of the Year. Boise State's Yaiza Rodriguez and CSU's Ellen Nystrom were recognized as the Co-Freshman of the Year, while Boise State junior Deanna Weaver was named Newcomer of the Year.

Six seniors, four juniors and one freshman make up this year's All-MW teams. Schlott, Thompson and Weaver are joined on the All-Mountain West First Team by San Diego State senior Cierra Warren and Wyoming junior Kayla Woodward. Woodward makes her third appearance on the MW postseason teams.

Colorado State senior Sam Martin was named to an MW All-Conference team for the fourth consecutive season, earning Second Team in 2013-14. Thompson and Nevada senior Danika Sharp join Martin on the Second Team, making their second consecutive appearances on the postseason honor roll. CSU juniors AJ Newton and Gritt Ryder and Bulldog Bree Farley round out the Second Team.

Five players received honorable mention - Nevada senior Arielle Wideman, New Mexico junior Antiesha Brown, San José State junior Ta'Rea Cunnigan, UNLV junior Alana Cesarz and Wyoming senior Fallon Lewis.

Thompson and Mungedi top the list of players named to the MW All-Defensive Team. The pair is joined by Weaver, Nystrom and Utah State junior Elise Nelson. The league added an All-Freshman Team to the postseason honors list in 2013-14. Bronco rookie Rodriguez and CSU teammates Nystrom and Elin Gustavsson join San Diego State's Ariell Bostick and San José State's Jasmine Smith on the inaugural team.

Williams led the Rams to the team's second Mountain West regular season title with a 15-3 Conference record. CSU finished the regular season 23-6 overall and will be the No. 1 seed in the 2014 Reese's Mountain West Women's Basketball Championship, March 10-11,14-15, at the Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas.

Profiles of All-MW First Team and Individual Award honorees

Jennifer Schlott (Utah State) - Player of the Year, First Team All-MW
Schlott established new MW single-season scoring records in 2013-14. In Conference play, the Nancy Lieberman Award finalist ranks first in points with a record-breaking 489 points for an average of 27.2 points per game. The senior guard also led the league in assists with 5.7 per game in MW action. Overall, Schlott set a new MW mark with 762 points (and counting) and currently scores at a 26.3 points per game pace. Schott has scored 30 or more points in six consecutive games leading into the MW Championship and 10 times in 18 MW regular season games. In MW action, Schlott shot 45.7 percent (172-376) from the field and 79.1 percent (117-148) from the free throw line and pitched in with 1.4 steals per game.

Taylor Thompson (Fresno State) - Co-Defensive Player of the Year, First Team All-MW
Thompson leads the Mountain West with a 2.4 assist/turnover ratio and ranks tied for fifth in steals with 1.9 per game in Conference play. Over an 18-game league schedule, the senior guard averaged 14.6 points, 5.7 rebounds and 4.4 assists per game, while shooting 45.5 percent from the field and 73.9 percent from the charity stripe.

Deanna Weaver (Boise State) - Newcomer of the Year, First Team All-MW
Weaver finished league play averaging 13.2 points, 6.5 rebounds, 2.7 assists and 2.0 steals per game. The transfer from Oregon became eligible just in time for Mountain West action to begin and quickly became the leading scorer and rebounder for the Broncos' young squad. Weaver shot 37.3 percent from the floor and 76.4 percent from the free throw line.

Kayla Woodward (Wyoming) - First Team All-MW
Woodward, the 2013-14 MW Preseason Player of the Year, finished league play ranked third in scoring at 16.7 points per game. The junior forward averaged 6.9 rebounds per game. Woodward led the league with 2.9 three point field goals made per game and was fifth in the league in three-point shooting with a 41.9 percentage.

Cierra Warren (San Diego State) - First Team All-MW
Warren made the most of her lone season in the Conference, averaging 16.3 points and 6.7 rebounds per game for the Aztecs. The transfer from Louisville led the Conference rankings in field goal shooting at 52.8 percent and ranked fourth in the league in scoring and 11th in rebounding.

Mimi Mungedi (Nevada) - Co-Defensive Player of the Year
Mungedi averaged 8.3 points, 6.9 rebounds and 1.2 blocked shots per game in MW action this season. The 6' 8" junior from Gabon ranked fourth in field goal shooting at 50.7 percent and blocked shots average. She was tied for ninth in rebounding average.

Ellen Nystrom (Colorado State) - Co-Freshman of the Year, Second Team All-MW
Nystrom averaged 11.0 points, 7.1 rebounds and 4.5 assists per game as a starting guard for the Rams. Her 50.7 percent from the field ranked fifth in Conference play, while her assists average ranked fourth. Nystrom was fourth in league action with a 1.9 assist/turnover ratio.

Yaiza Rodriguez (Boise State) - Co-Freshman of the Year
Rodriguez, a rookie from Barcelona, Spain, averaged 9.9 points, 2.4 rebounds, 3.4 assists and 1.2 steals per game in Mountain West play. She shot 38.0 percent from the field and 80.4 percent from the free throw line. Her assist average ranked 10th in league play, while her free throw percentage was sixth among all players.

Caitlin Duffy (Colorado State) - Sixth Player of the Year
Duffy was the first player off the bench in 2013-14 for the league champion Rams. The sophomore guard averaged 8.9 points, 3.0 rebounds and 1.1 assists in the supporting role. She shot 41.3 percent from the floor and 82.4 percent from the charity stripe. Duffy was third in league play in three-point shooting with a 44.7 shooting percentage and sixth with 2.0 three-pointers made per game.

2013-14 All-Mountain West Honors
First-Team All-Mountain West
Deanna Weaver Jr. G/F Boise State
&Taylor Thompson Sr. G Fresno State
Cierra Warren Sr. C San Diego State
Jennifer Schlott Sr. G Utah State
&^Kayla Woodward Jr. F Wyoming
Second-Team All-Mountain West
&^!Sam Martin Sr. F Colorado State
AJ Newton Jr. G Colorado State
Ellen Nystrom Fr. G Colorado State
Gritt Ryder Jr. G Colorado State
Bree Farley Sr. G Fresno State
&Danika Sharp Sr. G Nevada
Honorable Mention
Arielle Wideman Sr. G Nevada
Antiesha Brown Jr. G New Mexico
Ta'Rea Cunnigan Jr. G San José State
Alana Cesarz Jr. F UNLV
Fallon Lewis Sr. G Wyoming
All-Defensive Team
Deanna Weaver Jr. G/F Boise State
Ellen Nystrom Fr. G Colorado State
Taylor Thompson Sr. G Fresno State
Mimi Mungedi Jr. C Nevada
Elise Nelson Jr. G Utah State
All-Freshman Team
Yaiza Rodriguez Fr. G Boise State
Elin Gustavsson Fr. G Colorado State
Ellen Nystrom Fr. G Colorado State
Ariell Bostick Fr. G San Diego State
Jasmine Smith Fr. F San José State
Player of the Year:
Jennifer Schlott, Sr., G, Utah State
Co-Defensive Player of the Year:
Taylor Thompson, Sr., G, Fresno State
Mimi Mungedi, Jr., C, Nevada
Co-Freshman of the Year:
Yaiza Rodriguez, G, Boise State;
Ellen Nystrom, G, Colorado State
Newcomer of the Year:
Deanna Weaver, Jr., G/F Boise State
Sixth Player of the Year:
Caitlin Duffy, So., G, Colorado State
Coach of the Year:
Ryun Williams, Colorado State
& 2012-13 All-MW/Defensive team selection
^ 2011-12 All-MW/Defensive team selection
! 2010-11 All-MW/Defensive team selection