Mountain West Announces 2014 Reese's MW Women's Basketball Championship Bracket

Mountain West Announces 2014 Reese's MW Women's Basketball Championship Bracket

Follow @MW_Whoops on Twitter Twitter | Championship Central | MWN Video Release

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Colorado State (23-6, 15-3) won the 2013-14 Mountain West regular-season title and enters the Reese's MW Women's Basketball Championship as the No. 1 seed. The MW Championship will be held at the Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas on March 10-11, 14-15.

Fresno State (19-10) finished second in the regular-season standings with a 13-5 Conference record and will be the No. 2 seed, while Nevada (17-12, 12-6) will be the No. 3 seed with the tiebreaker over Boise State (17-12, 12-6), the No. 4 seed. Wyoming (19-10) will be the No. 5 seed with a 10-8 MW record. San Diego State (12-16) and UNLV (12-18) finished Conference play with identical 9-9 records, with the Aztecs holding the tiebreaker over the Lady Rebels for the No. 6 seed. UNLV will be the No. 7 seed. Utah State (14-15, 8-10) finished eighth in the standings, while New Mexico (11-18, 6-12) finished ninth, San José State (11-18, 5-13) ended up 10th and Air Force (1-27, 0-18) 11th to round out the bracket.

Utah State and New Mexico will get the tournament started on Monday, March 10 at 2 p.m. PT with the No. 8 vs. No. 9 game. The winner will face No. 1 seed Colorado State in the quarterfinals. It will be the first meeting between the newcomer Aggies and Lobos in the MW Tournament. New Mexico leads the all-time series, 9-5, with Utah State winning the 2013-14 series (2-0). The Lobos are 25-9 all-time in the MW Tournament and has won five championships.

Monday's first round games continue with No. 7 UNLV against first-time MW tournament participant San José State, the No. 10 seed, at 4:30 p.m. PT, followed by No. 6 San Diego State against No. 11 Air Force at 7 p.m. The Lady Rebels and Spartans will meet for the first time in the tournament with UNLV leading the all-time series, 26-3. UNLV is 8-14 in Championship action. SDSU and Air Force have met just once in MW postseason competition with the Aztecs beating the Falcons 68-58 in the 2012 quarterfinals. The Aztecs are 11-12 in the MW Championship, earning titles in 2010 and 2012. Air Force is 2-14 in the MW postseason.

Tuesday's quarterfinal games begin with No. 1 Colorado State against the winner of the 8/9 match-up at Noon PT. If Utah State advances, it will be the first meeting between the two programs in the MW Tournament. CSU leads the all-time series against the Aggies, 12-9, including a two-game sweep during the 2013-14 season. If New Mexico advances, it will be the sixth meeting between the institutions in MW Tournament play. UNM leads the all-time series, 39-32; however CSU took a two-game sweep this year. The Rams are 10-13 in the MW Championship, winning the tournament title in 2001.

No. 4 seed Boise State meets No. 5 Wyoming at 2:30 p.m. PT on Tuesday. This will be the first meeting between the two teams in the MW Tournament. The teams split the regular-season series, while the Broncos hold a 7-6 edge in the all-time series. BSU is 1-2 in the MW Championship. The Cowgirls are 5-14 in the postseason tournament.

The evening session of quarterfinals begins with No. 2 Fresno State against the winner of UNLV-San José State at 6 p.m. PT. It will be the first meeting in MW Tournament action for the Bulldogs with either team that advances. Fresno State took the regular-season series, 2-0 from UNLV but is 11-15 against the Lady Rebels all-time. The Bulldogs split with the Spartans in 2013-14 and hold a 51-19 advantage all-time. Fresno State is 3-0 in the MW Championship, earning the crown in 2013.

No. 3 Nevada will take on the advancing team of the San Diego State-Air Force match-up in the nightcap at 8:30 p.m. PT. The Wolf Pack faced both teams in the 2013 Tournament, Nevada's first season in the Mountain West. Nevada earned the two-game sweep in the regular-season series against the Falcons, gaining a 7-3 edge in the overall series. Against the Aztecs, the Wolf Pack won the only meeting of the season between the two teams. The Aztecs hold the all-time advantage, 6-4. Nevada is 1-1 in MW tournament play.

The four remaining teams will have a two-day break before the semifinals on Friday, March 14, at Noon and 2:30 p.m. PT. The teams will be playing for the chance to play in Saturday's Championship final at 7 p.m. PT on CBS Sports Network and earn the league's automatic bid to the 2014 NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament. All first round, quarterfinal and semifinal games will air live on the Mountain West Network (

MW Championship Notes

> The MW Championship has produced six different champions in 14 years. New Mexico is the only institution to win three consecutive championships (2003-2005) and five overall (2007, 2008). Fresno State won the title in its first year in the league (2013). San Diego State (2010, 2012) earned its second title two seasons ago and Colorado State won the crown in 2001.

> The No. 1 seed has won the tournament title only five times in 14 years. San Diego State got through unscathed in 2012 as the No. 1 seed for its second title. New Mexico won the crown as the No. 1 seed in 2004 and 2005, while former member Utah won the championship in 2000 and 2009 as the top seed.

> New Mexico is 5-1 when reaching the title game, while San Diego State is 2-3 in the tournament finale. The Aztecs and Lobos are 1-1 in championship game match-ups.

> Fresno State is unscathed in MW tournament action, going 3-0 in the Bulldogs' first season in the Conference (2013).

> Five current MW teams have reached the title game. New Mexico has advanced to the title game six times, while San Diego State has five appearances. Colorado State, Fresno State and UNLV have each been in the championship game once.

Monday, March 10 TV
2 p.m. First Round No. 8 Utah State vs. No. 9 New Mexico Mountain West Network
4:30 p.m. First Round No. 7 UNLV vs. No. 10 San José State Mountain West Network
7 p.m. First Round No. 6 San Diego State vs. No. 11 Air Force Mountain West Network
Tuesday, March 11 TV
Noon Quarterfinal Game #1 No. 1 Colorado State vs. Winner of 8 vs. 9 Mountain West Network
2:30 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #2 No. 4 Boise State vs. No. 5 Wyoming Mountain West Network
6 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #3 No. 2 Fresno State vs. Winner of 7 vs. 10 Mountain West Network
8:30 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #4 No. 3 Nevada vs. Winner of 6 vs. 11 Mountain West Network
Friday, March 15 TV
Noon Semifinal Game #1 Winner of QF #1 vs. Winner of QF #2 Mountain West Network
2:30 p.m. Semifinal Game #2 Winner of QF #3 vs. Winner of QF #4 Mountain West Network
Saturday, March 16 TV
7 p.m. Championship Game CBS Sports Network
All games are Pacific Time.

All-session and single-session tickets for the 2014 Reese's Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Championship are now on sale at the Thomas & Mack Center box office and UNLV ticket outlets or online at

All ten Mountain West Women's Basketball Championship games will be broadcast. The first round, quarterfinals and semifinals will be streamed live on the Mountain West Network ( The championship game will air live on CBS Sports Network, beginning at 7 p.m. PT.