2014 Mountain West Baseball Championship Bracket Set

2014 Mountain West Baseball Championship Central | 2014 Mountain West Baseball Championship Bracket in PDF Format Adobe Acrobat | Follow @MW_OlySports on Twitter Twitter


UNLV (33-21, 20-10 MW) and New Mexico (37-18-1, 20-10 MW) are the 2014 Mountain West regular season baseball co-champions. The Rebels earned the No. 1 seed in the MW Baseball Championship with a 5-1 series win over the Lobos in Conference play. The MW Championship will be held at Earl E. Wilson Stadium in Las Vegas, Nevada, on Wednesday-Sunday, May 21-25. Both teams earn a first-round bye to Thursday, May 22.

The 2014 MW Championship will be a double-elimination tournament preceded by a single play-in game between No. 6 seed Air Force (20-33, 10-20 MW) and No. 7 seed San José State (18-36, 10-20 MW). The winner of the game, to be played at 11 a.m. PT on Wednesday, May 21, will face No. 3 seed San Diego State (37-18, 17-13 MW) immediately following at 3 p.m. PT. No. 4 seed Nevada (28-25, 15-15 MW) will face No. 5 seed Fresno State (27-27, 13-17 MW) at 7 p.m. PT.

UNLV’s 20 MW wins are the most by the team since 2005, the last time the Rebels won the league title. UNLV is 23-23 in MW championship play, winning three consecutive titles from 2003-05. The Rebels were the No. 1 seed in 2003 and 2005 and won as the No. 3 seed in 2004. UNLV will face the lowest winning seed of Wednesday’s first round games at 7 p.m. PT on Thursday, May 22.

New Mexico is 23-24 in MW tournament action and has won two postseason titles (2011 and 2012). The Lobos will face the highest winning seed advancing from the first round match-ups at 3 p.m. PT on Thursday, May 22.

Air Force is making its second consecutive appearance in the tournament after a six-year absence, while San José State is a newcomer in the Mountain West this season. The Falcons hold a 3-16 championship record over eight appearances.

San Diego State, the defending tournament champion, is 32-25 with two tournament titles (2000, 2013) in MW postseason play. Nevada is 1-2 in the Conference tournament, while Fresno State is 2-2. Both teams are making their second appearance in the MW postseason championship.

The losers of Wednesday’s 3 p.m. and 7 p.m. contests will play each other at 11 a.m. PT on Thursday, May 22, followed by the first games for No. 2 seed New Mexico (3 p.m.) and No. 1 seed UNLV (7 p.m.). Elimination games continue on Friday, May 23 at 11 a.m. PT and 3 p.m. PT with the winner’s bracket game played at 7 p.m. PT. Saturday, May 24, will begin with an elimination game set for 3 p.m. PT, followed by the championship game at 7 p.m. PT. If a second championship game is needed, it will be played at 1 p.m. PT on Sunday, May 25.

Every tournament game will be streamed live and free on the Mountain West Network (TheMW.com). Rich Cellini will call the play-by-play with Paul Loeffler and David Lombardi sharing the color analyst duties from Earl E. Wilson Stadium.

2014 Mountain West Baseball Championship

Wednesday, May 21
Game No. 1 - #6 Air Force vs. #7 San José State, 11 a.m. PT
Game No. 2 - #3 San Diego State vs. Winner of Air Force/San José State, 3 p.m. PT
Game No. 3 - #4 Nevada vs. #5 Fresno State, 7 p.m. PT

Thursday, May 22
Game No. 4 - Game 2 loser vs. Game 3 loser, 11 a.m. PT
Game No. 5 - #2 New Mexico vs. Highest winning seed of Games 2/3, 3 p.m. PT
Game No. 6 - #1 UNLV vs. Lowest winning seed of Games 2/3, 7 p.m. PT

Friday, May 23
Game No. 7 - Winner of Game 4 vs. Lowest losing seed of Game 5/6, 11 a.m. PT
Game No. 8 - Winner of Game 7 vs. Highest losing seed of Game 5/6, 3 p.m. PT
Game No. 9 - Winner of Game 5 vs. Winner of Game 6, 7 p.m. PT

Saturday, May 24
Game No. 10 - Winner of Game 8 vs. Loser of Game 9, 3 p.m. PT
Championship Game - Winner of Game 9 vs. Winner of Game 10, 7 p.m. PT

Sunday, May 25
If Necessary Championship Game - Same teams as Saturday 7 p.m. game if both have one loss, 1 p.m. PT

(#) = Tournament seed